
 

Colorado Parks and Wildlife  
Columbine Pass  

 
Does Colorado Parks and Wildlife offer a pass for disabled individuals?  
Yes. The Colorado General Assembly passed a bill that allows certain disabled residents a reduced-cost 
State Parks annual entrance pass. It is called the Columbine Pass.  
 
Who will be eligible for the Columbine Pass?  
To qualify for a Columbine Pass, the applicant must be a:  

1. Colorado resident, and  
2. provide acceptable documentation of total & permanent disability from one of the following:  

 A photocopy of a “Benefit Verification” or “TPQY” form from the Social Security 
Administration (obtained by calling 1-800-772-1213 and asking the operator for your 
“Benefit Verification or TPQY form or  

 A photocopy of a letter from the Veterans Administration indicating a permanent and 
total disability (call the VA at 1-800-827-1000 or  

 A photocopy from Division of Workers’ Compensation “Final Admission of Liability” 
indicating permanent and total disability; or  

 A signed physician’s letter attesting to a physical or mental impairment which 
prevents gainful employment and the impairment is reasonably certain to continue 
throughout the person’s lifetime.  

 
To avoid time delays in processing your application, the above documentation should be current 

and issued within the past 12 months. 
 

Please note: When mailing in an application, a copy of your valid Colorado Driver’s License or 

Colorado I.D. must be included with the application. 
 

What exactly is the Columbine Pass?  
The Columbine Pass will allow permanently and totally disabled individuals to:  

 Purchase yearly entrance pass for $14.00 instead of the regular vehicle pass cost of $70.  
 Transfer the pass between vehicles, allowing the Columbine Pass holder and other vehicle 

occupants’ entry to the park. The pass holder must be present for the pass to be valid.  

 Visit 42 state parks for 12 continuous months from date of purchase. (Please note: An additional 
$3 decal yearly fee is collected at Cherry Creek State Park for the Water Basin Authority.)  

 
How will the Columbine Pass be used?  
The Columbine Pass is valid for park entrance only and does not include camping fees when the 
individual to whom the pass was issued is a passenger in the vehicle entering the park. The pass must 
be displayed from the rear view mirror and be visible through the front windshield at all times while 
within the park. The person must also carry ID.  
 
Will the Columbine Pass offer free camping for disabled individuals as well?  
The Columbine Pass was supported by legislators as a way to provide the benefit of reduced entrance 
fees to permanently and totally disabled residents who are on a fixed/limited income as a result of 
their disability. Columbine Pass holders who are 64 years of age or older will receive the camping 
benefits of the Aspen Leaf Pass when they provide photo identification with proof of age.  

 
-- more -- 



I have a Disabled Veteran’s License Plate. Will I receive special camping benefits?  
No. The law for individuals with Disabled Veteran’s Colorado license plates provides free entrance to 
state parks and does not provide special camping rates. If you are 64 years of age and a Colorado 
resident, you may opt to purchase the reduced-fee Aspen Leaf Pass (with special camping benefits) or 
apply for the Columbine Pass.  
 
How and where can I purchase a Columbine Pass?  
Columbine Pass applications are available online, at C.P.W. region offices and at the headquarters in 
Denver – not at the individual parks or through any pass vendors. When mailing in applications, a copy 
of a valid Colorado Driver’s License or Colorado I.D. must be included. Applications may be obtained 
and will be accepted by mail or in person at these locations:  

 Colorado Parks and Wildlife Denver Office, 1313 Sherman St. # 618, Denver, CO, 80203  

 Southeast Region Office, 4255 Sinton Rd, Colorado Springs , CO 80907  

 Rocky Mountain Region Office, 711 Independent Ave, Grand Junction, CO 81505 

 CO River SP – Corn Lake Section, 361  32 Rd, Clifton, CO 81520   

 Littleton Office Complex, 13787 Highway 85, Littleton CO 80125 

 Broadway Office, 6060 Broadway, Denver CO 80216 

 
Upon completion of the Columbine Pass application – including: 

 A copy of your current Colorado Driver’s License or Colorado I.D. 

 Recent documentation of “total and permanent disability” from the Social Security 
Administration, the Veterans Administration, the Colorado Division of Workers’ 
Compensation or a Physician’s Letter. 

 A check or money order in the amount of $14.00 payable to: Colorado Parks and Wildlife. 
When the proper application materials are received, the Columbine Pass will then be mailed to the 
approved applicant within 30 days. Candidates whose application has been denied will receive written 
notification within 20 working days of application receipt by the Division. If not accepted, fees paid will 
be refunded.  
 
Why won’t I be able to get the Columbine Pass at any park?  
State Parks relies on user fees as its primary source of funding; therefore, it is important that the 
Columbine Pass be properly administered. Eligibility for the Columbine Pass must be accurately 
determined by Parks' staff. Temporary or full time park employees at a crowded entrance gate cannot 
quickly and accurately process the Columbine Pass application without unnecessarily delaying other 
visitors.  
 
I thought State Parks already offered some passes for disabled park visitors.  
That’s true. State Parks currently allows free daily park entrance for any Colorado registered vehicle 
that displays disabled veteran license plates and the qualified veteran is in the vehicle. This policy will 
not change.  
 
I have a National Park Service disability pass. Can I use it?  
No. The criteria vary for a pass offered by other agencies and organizations. We cannot investigate or 
research all the criteria for each of these passes. However, documentation from any of the four sources 
cited above is acceptable and easy to obtain.  
 
Are permanently and totally disabled youth eligible for the Columbine Pass?  
Yes. A permanently and totally disabled child who meets the criteria is eligible.  
 
Must I apply for the Columbine Pass each year?  
A renewal postcard will be mailed one month before the pass is due to expire to current Columbine 
Pass holders. If you wish to renew your pass you may return the postcard along with a check or money 
order for $14.00 payable to Colorado Parks and Wildlife.  


