Sign In
CPW News Release
CPW News Release
​​
5/10/2018
Colorado Parks and Wildlife celebrates Gov. Hickenlooper’s decision to sign into law the Hunting, Fishing and Parks for Future Generations Act 


Colorado Parks and Wildlife celebrates Gov. Hickenlooper’s decision to sign into law the Hunting, Fishing and Parks for Future Generations Act 
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 

Colorado Parks and Wildlife Director Bob Broscheid

Lauren Truitt
CPW Statewide
303-866-3203 x4604

or by cell 720-498-0472

May 10, 2018

Gov. Hickenlooper signs bill ensuring CPW funding for future generations

DENVER, Colo. – Colorado Parks and Wildlife (CPW) is celebrating Gov. John Hickenlooper’s decision to sign into law the Hunting, Fishing and Parks for Future Generations Act, which will provide CPW its first significant cash infusion in 13 years.

The law, signed by the governor May 4, grants the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission authority to enact modest increases to state park entrance fees. In addition, prices for in-state hunting and fishing licenses are anticipated to go up in 2019. The new revenue will allow CPW to begin to address projected funding shortfalls of $30 million annually for wildlife and $11 million annually for parks by 2025.

“It’s encouraging to see the broad coalition of sportsmen, wildlife enthusiasts and outdoor recreationists who came together to support the agency in our work to promote and protect Colorado’s natural resources and outdoor recreation opportunities,” said CPW Director Bob Broscheid. "This law will benefit all Coloradans by helping to ensure healthy state parks and abundant wildlife.”

The new revenue will allow CPW to repair aging dams, update deteriorating infrastructure at state parks and hatcheries and recruit new hunters and anglers.

The law will also allow CPW to adjust future fees based on the Consumer Price Index, a critical change given the agency lost 30 percent of its spending power due to inflation since 2005 -- the last time resident hunting and fishing licenses were increased. State park passes have not been raised since 2010.

Lawmakers agreed with CPW’s position that the increases were necessary to continue to conserve wildlife resources, maintain valuable infrastructure, ensure a quality state park system and operate and maintain outdoor recreation programs.

Under the law, a one-day fishing license for a Colorado resident will go up by $4 and annual licenses will increase by $8. The law will also allow CPW to adjust future fees based on the Consumer Price Index. Most multi-day resident hunting licenses will increase by $8. For example, an elk tag will increase from $45 to $53. The law allows a $1 increase on the $7 daily park entrance fees. Annual passes may be increased by $10 from the current $70 rate.

CPW relies on user fees, not general tax dollars, to fund its work. Hunting and fishing licenses, park entrance fees and OHV, boat and snowmobile registration fees are primary sources of funding for the agency. CPW has worked hard to ensure that any fee increases are minimal, and will help in accomplishing the much-needed maintenance and goals set forth by agency leadership.

“The people of Colorado have entrusted CPW with an incredible mission,” Broscheid said. “The Governor, our lawmakers and the agency heard the public’s demand to place a priority on maintaining our state parks and conserving habitat and wildlife for future generations.”

 

CPW is an enterprise agency, relying primarily on license sales, state parks fees and registration fees to support its operations, including: 41 state parks and more than 350 wildlife areas covering approximately 900,000 acres, management of fishing and hunting, wildlife watching, camping, motorized and non-motorized trails, boating and outdoor education. CPW's work contributes approximately $6 billion in total economic impact annually throughout Colorado.
Share
Tweet
Forward
Website
Copyright © 2018 Colorado Parks and Wildlife, All rights reserved.
​​