Sign In
Habitat Stamp
Habitat Stamp

​​​​​ ​Updates  ​

  • The Habitat Stamp costs $10.

  • Individuals only have to purchase ONE Habitat Stamp for the entire season (April 1 – March 31 annually). The lifetime Habitat Stamp costs $300.25. 

  • Anyone aged 18 through 64 must buy a stamp in order to buy or apply for a hunting or fishing license. 

  • If you are disabled, you may not need a habitat stamp. See disability information​.  

  • Hunters applying for a limited license must purchase a stamp to apply for the drawing process. 

  • ​Anyone buying a one-day or additional-day license for fishing and/or small game is exempt from purchasing the habitat stamp with the first two of these licenses. The habitat fee will be assessed when a third one-day or additional-day license is purchased for fishing or small game.

Habitat stamp Each individual wishing to buy or apply for a fishing or hunting license must purchase a $10 Habitat Stamp for the license year (April 1 - March 31 annually). This fee will be automatically included in the price of your first fishing or hunting license for the year if purchased online, through the 1(800) 244-5613 phone line, or in person at a Colorado Parks and Wildlife area office​ or license agent.

For more information, call CPW at (303) 297-1192.​

Protecting Habitat and Providing Access 

​Habitat loss is one of the leading issues impacting the survival of fish and wildlife for future generations. Purchases of the Habitat Stamp provide the core funds for the Colorado Wildlife Habitat Protection Program. The program provides a means for Colorado Parks and Wildlife to work with private landowners, local governments, and conservation organizations to protect important fish and wildlife habitat and provide places for people to enjoy our wildlife heritage. 

Habitat Stamp at Work

​​Since the Habitat Stamp’s legislative inception in 2006, the Colorado Wildlife Habitat Protection Program has: 

  • Conserved 173,864 acres of key wildlife habitat (more than 271 square miles) 

  • Secured 78,693 acres of new public access 

  • Opened 25.85 miles of new fishing access 

  • Protected more than 100,397 acres of big game winter range/migration corridors 

  • Saved critical habitat for sage-grouse and other imperiled species ​

Small Stamp Big Difference 

​Purchases of the Habitat Stamp provide the core funds for the Colorado Wildlife Habitat Protection Program. The agency has leveraged a variety of other funds around this core – including Great Outdoors Colorado and federal State Wildlife Grants – to extend the program’s reach. These combined funds have been focused on protecting fish and wildlife habitat and opportunities for hunting and fishing.  ​

Buying a Habitat Stamp 

​The habitat stamp can be purchased at: 

Each individual must purchase a $10 Habitat Stamp for the license year (April 1 - March 31 annually​​​). This fee will be automatically included in the price of your first fishing or hunting license for the year if purchased online, through the 1(800) 244-5613 phone line, or in person at a Colorado Parks and Wildlife area office or license agent. Anyone applying by mail for a hunting license through the draw must include the $10 Habitat Stamp fee with their license application fees if they have not already purchased a fishing or hunting license and Habitat Stamp for the year. 

Please note: State law requires social security numbers to buy all licenses and stamps. It is not displayed on the license, but is provided if requested to Child Support Enforcement authorities.