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EXHIBIT A 
ARKANSAS HEADWATERS RECREATION AREA 

PROVISIONS COMMON TO ALL 
 
GRANT AND TERM:  
 
This Special Activity Permit, hereinafter referred to as the Permit, is granted subject to the conditions and 
limitations set forth herein and provided for the term: 
 
November 1, 2023 through October 31, 2024 
 
The term may be modified by the State whenever necessary to conform to the Arkansas Headwaters 
Recreation Area Management Plan (AHRA-MP) as that Plan is amended or to reflect current conditions. 
 
For the purpose of any and all payments made to the State, only cash, credit cards (MasterCard, Discover 
and Visa by phone or in person only during established AHRA business hours), checks, money orders or 
certified checks written to the Colorado Parks and Wildlife will be accepted.  No Electronic Fund Transfers 
will be accepted. 
 
A Probationary Permit will be issued to a Permittee no more than two consecutive seasons after which time 
the Permit will be revoked (a Probationary Permit will not be issued three consecutive seasons). 
 
DEFINITIONS: 
 
“Application Fee” shall be defined as a nonrefundable fee of $400 for Boating and $250 for all other 
activities.  An Application Fee is charged to cover the costs involved in processing the application.  The 
Application Fee will not supplement the use fee. 
 
CONDITIONS: 
 
1. AHRA Special Activity Permit Application 
 

Any person or business entity conducting a commercial operation which in any way utilizes the surface 
of the Arkansas River, as well as public lands or waters within the AHRA, must apply for a Special 
Activity Permit located on the Internet website https://ahraoutfitters.org/.  
 
Application Requirements: 

 
a. Submit a completed, signed, and dated AHRA Special Activity Permit Application. 

 
b. Submit one (1) original Special Activity Permit signature page, completed and signed.  Digital 

signatures accepted. 
 

c. Submit fee payment. 
 
The State will provide an invoice to each Permittee indicating the amount of Preseason Payment 
due.   

 
1) The Preseason Payment is calculated as follows: the previous season’s Permit Fee divided by 

two.  This Application Fee must be received by April 1st. 
 

a) Preseason Payment Schedule  
 

All Boating Permittees must pay $400.00 (Application Fee) at time of application.  This 
payment must be received by April 1st.  All other Permittees (Imaging, Walk & Wade 
Fishing, Shuttle Service, Rock Climbing, Hiking and Mt. Biking) must pay $250.00 
(Application Fee) at time of application.  All applications must be submitted by April 1st.   

https://ahraoutfitters.org/
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The Preseason Payment balance may be made in two payments: A minimum of fifty 
percent (50%) of the remaining balance must be received by 5:00 p.m. mountain daylight 
time on May 31st and the remaining balance must be received by 5:00 p.m. mountain 
daylight time on June 25th.   

 
The administrative penalty for non-payment of the May 31st payment is suspension of the 
Special Activity Permit until payment is made plus a late fee of $100.  Operating under 
suspension shall be deemed a material breach of this Permit by the Permittee and may 
warrant revocation of the Permit. 

 
The administrative penalty for non-payment of the June 25th payment is suspension of the 
Special Activity Permit until payment is made plus a late fee of $100.  Operating under 
suspension shall be deemed a material breach of this Permit by the Permittee and may 
warrant revocation of the Permit. 
 
Failure to submit 1) a) by June 25th shall be deemed a material breach of this Permit by 
the Permittee after which time the Permit will be revoked. 

 
2) Payment must be made to Colorado Parks and Wildlife. 

 
d. Submit a completed AHRA Operating and Safety Plan (form located on the Internet website 

https://ahraoutfitters.org/).  Any changes to the authorized operations or activities must be 
requested in writing.  The Permittee must then submit an updated AHRA Operating and Safety 
Plan prior to receiving approval from CPW to commence operations.  Approval from the State will 
be made via email and/or website notification. 

 
e. Submit a Permittee’s Operating Plan for all commercial operations, including all paid guide training 

programs offered on the Arkansas River within the AHRA.  The Permittee shall provide a detailed 
written description to the State of the company’s intended operations both on and off public lands 
and waters as they pertain to the AHRA.  Any changes to the authorized operations or activities 
must be requested in writing.  The Permittee must then submit an updated Permittee’s Operating 
and Safety Plan prior to receiving approval from the State to commence operations.  Approval from 
the Division will be made via email and/or website notification.   
 
1) PROPOSED ACTIVITIES:  In detail, describe what types of trips will be offered.  Describe the 

company’s intended operations and uses of Public Lands and Waters as they pertain to the 
AHRA.  Provide full descriptions of all proposed activities.  Include operations on and off Public 
Lands and Waters (i.e. Locations where guests are met and shuttled from).  The Permittee’s 
Operating Plan must include, but is not limited to: 
a) Day-To-Day Operations 
b) Guide Training Programs 
c) Multi-Day Use 
d) Put-Ins and Take-Outs 
e) Meeting Guests at AHRA Sites 
f) Lunch Stops 
g) Camp Sites 
h) Hours of Intended Operations 
i) Subcontracted Operations with other AHRA Shuttle and Imaging Permittees. 
j) Instructional Classes 
k) Services for People with Disabilities 
l) Services for Other Special Populations 
m) Physical Location (Addresses) of All Operation Centers the Company Will Utilize to 

Conduct Business 
n) Temporary Facilities, Caches, or Staging Areas 
o) Hazard Identification (i.e. Scouting Locations) 

 
f. Submit a copy of all current brochures and price lists.  

https://ahraoutfitters.org/
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g. Submit a copy of your Motor Carrier U.S. DOT (U.S. Department of Transportation) Identification 
Number. 

 
h. Submit a list of all Permittee-owned and/or non-owned vehicles to be utilized in their commercial 

operations.  List the year, make, model, and license plate number of each vehicle, as well as noting 
whether the vehicle is commercially marked or unmarked.  All vehicles used in commercial 
operations must, at all times within the AHRA, have a valid registration, proof of commercial 
insurance, and be visibly marked on the exterior of the vehicle with the Permittee’s name, initials 
or an easily identifiable logo.   

 
1) Such lettering or logos must be of contrasting color to the background and must be maintained 

so as to be clearly visible and legible from a distance of at least 150 feet.   
 

2) Letters must be at least four (4) inches in height and the name and/or logo must be a minimum 
of six (6) inches in width.   

 
i. Submit, and keep current, a list of all Commercial Guides, Trip Leaders, Guide Trainees and Guide 

Instructors (not to include Rent-a-Guides who are from a primary Permittee with guide qualifications 
records at their location).  Such list must be updated and submitted to AHRA within two (2) weeks 
of hiring or firing of these employees.  This list shall be updated with changes for the current season 
on the ahraoutfitters.org website. 

 
j. Deadline for submission of all application materials (1.a through 1.i) is April 1st.  Incomplete 

Applications will not be processed or refunded. 
 

Failure to comply with any of the above (1.a through 1.i) by April 1st will result in an assessment of 
a late filing fee of $100.00.  Once late, the Application Fee must include the assessed late fee to 
be considered complete. 
 
Failure to comply with any of the above (1.a through 1.i) by May 1st will result in an assessment of 
an additional late filing fee of $100.00. Once late, the Application Fee must include the assessed 
late fees to be considered complete. 
 
Failure to comply with any of the above (1.a through 1.i) by June 1st will result in Permit revocation.  
A Permit in the process of being transferred in accordance with the Special Activity Permit 
Assignment Policy, will be exempt from this June 1st deadline. 
 
Minimum application processing is thirty (30) days.  The Permittee must then receive approval from 
the State to commence operations.  Approval from the State will be made via email, US Mail and/or 
website notification.  
 

2. End of Season Reporting 
 

All Permittees must submit an End of Season Report. 
 
a. Submit a completed Trip and/or Sales Log.  Deadline for submission of the Trip and/or Sales Log 

is November 1st.   
 
1) For Boating Permittees, the Trip Log must be submitted utilizing the Internet-based Trip Log 

reporting program located at https://ahraoutfitters.org/ unless written authorization has been 
granted from CPW authorizing an alternative electronic method.  Such alternative electronic 
methods must fully integrate with the web-based Trip Log reporting program. 
 
Boating Permittees must report Guide Trainee boats on a separate record entry for the purpose 
of Historic Use exclusion and Permit Fee exclusion.  Guide Trainees on commercial boats must 
also be reported on a separate record entry for the purpose of Historic Use exclusion and 

https://ahraoutfitters.org/
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Permit Fee exclusion.  Failure to report Guide Trainees and Guide Trainee boats on a separate 
record entry will result in the Guide Trainee being recorded as a Client in the Trip Log. 

 
a) After submission of the Trip Log, the State will email an electronic spreadsheet of the 

Permittee’s Trip Log report to the Permittee.  The Permittee is to make any necessary 
changes, modifications, and/or Trip Log amendments utilizing the supplied Trip Log 
spreadsheet by November 15th. 
 

b) If Trip Log modifications have not been made and resubmitted by November 15th, the State 
will make corrections to data necessary for the running of the Rationing Program.   
 

c) Modifications made to a Trip Log, at the request of a Permittee, after November 15th will 
require the approval of the Park Manager.  Any Permittee granted a request for modification 
of a Trip Log after November 15th will be charged an administrative fee of $250.00 per boat.  
Trip log modifications will only be made to the current year trip log.  No historic use credit 
will be credited to prior years. 

 
2) For Imaging Permittees, the Sales Logs will be available on the Internet website at 

https://ahraoutfitters.org/.   
 

Imaging Permittees must report daily sales derived from the capturing of images of recreational 
activities occurring on public lands or waters within the AHRA. The location of the recreational 
activity being photographed, not necessarily the location of the camera or photographer, may 
be the determining factor for reporting daily sales.  Additionally, if the imaging product sold is 
that of another AHRA Commercial Permittee, the Imaging Permittee must identify the AHRA 
Commercial Permittee in the daily sales report.  
 
Imaging Permittees who perform wholesale services shall submit to the State a compensation 
report from each imaging sales retailer detailing all monetary gain or other compensation 
received from an AHRA Commercial Permittee for providing an imaging product or service that 
resulted in a retail sale to clients. The total monetary gain or other compensation received from 
this wholesale service is not to be included in the Imaging Permittees’ Total Gross Receipts.  
 

3) For Walk and Wade Fishing Permittees, the Trip/Sales Logs will be available on the Internet 
website at https://ahraoutfitters.org/.   
 

4) For Shuttle Permittees, the Sales Logs will be available on the Internet website at 
https://ahraoutfitters.org/. 

 
5) For Climbing, Hiking and Mt. Biking Permittees, the Trip/Sales Logs will be available on the 

Internet website at https://ahraoutfitters.org/. 
 
6) All commercial use of lands authorized under the CPW’s Temporary Wildlife Special Use 

Permit issued by the appropriate Area Wildlife Manager must be reported on the appropriate 
activity Trip Log, in the State Wildlife Area field. 
 

b. Submit a completed, signed, and dated End of Season Report.  Deadline for submission of the End 
of Season Report is November 1st.  The End of Season Report is available for downloading from 
the Internet website https://ahraoutfitters.org/.  Either signed hardcopies or an electronic 
submission will be accepted. 
 

c. Submit the Final Payment due.  The End of Season Payment must be received by November 1st. 
 
1) End of Season Fee Determination 

 
a) End of Season Fee is calculated by multiplying the Total Gross Receipts by the appropriate 

percentage for the authorized activities {5.25% for Boating (5.00% Permit Fee and .25% 

https://ahraoutfitters.org/
https://ahraoutfitters.org/
https://ahraoutfitters.org/
https://ahraoutfitters.org/
https://ahraoutfitters.org/
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Supplemental Flow Program Water Fee), 5.0% for all other activities}, except as outlined 
in Condition 2.c.2. 

 
b) Total Balance Due is shown on Line 12 (Boating), Line 7 (Walk & Wade), Line 4 (Imaging 

and Shuttle), and Line 7 (Rock Climbing, Hiking and Mt. Biking) of the End of Season 
Report payable to the Colorado Parks and Wildlife. 

 
c) If the Balance as shown on Line 13 (Boating), Line 8 (Walk & Wade), and Line 5 (Imaging 

and Shuttle), and Line 8 (Rock Climbing, Hiking and Mt. Biking) of the End of Season 
Report is a refund due to the Permittee, a Refund Request Affidavit form will be provided 
to the Permittee.  The signed Refund Request Affidavit form must then be submitted to the 
State. 

 
d) Permittees shall not advertise fees as a tax.  The Permittees may not portray or represent 

the Permit Fee as a tax in an itemized customer billing. 
 

2) Minimum Per Client Fee 
 

a) A Permittee’s Per Client Fee is calculated by dividing the Preliminary Permit Fee shown on 
Line 4 of the End of Season Report by the total number of clients shown on the End of 
Season Report. 
 

b) For Boating, Walk & Wade Fishing, Rock Climbing, Hiking and Mt. Biking Permittees, the 
Minimum Per Client Fee shall not be less than four (4) dollars (equivalent to the 2020 
Individual Daily Pass fee set by the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission).  Changes 
to the Individual Daily Pass fee set by the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Commission will 
require the Minimum Per Client Fee to be reviewed. 

 
c) Boating Permittees shall pay 5.00% of Total Gross Receipts, OR four (4) dollars multiplied 

by the total number of clients, whichever is greater.  Also, all Boating Permittees shall pay 
an additional 0.25% of Total Gross Receipts as a Supplemental Flow Program Water Fee. 

 
d) Walk & Wade Fishing Permittees shall pay 5% of the Total Gross Receipts OR four (4) 

dollars multiplied by the total number of clients, whichever is greater. 
 

e) Rock Climbing, Hiking and Mt. Biking Permittees shall pay 5% of the Total Gross Receipts 
OR four (4) dollars multiplied by the total number of clients, whichever is greater. 

 
d. Failure to comply with 2.a, 2.b, and 2.c by November 1st shall be deemed a material breach of this 

Permit by the Permittee and will result in an assessment of a late filing fee of $100.00. 
 

e. Failure to comply with any of the above (2.a through 2.d) by December 1st shall be deemed a 
material breach of this Permit by the Permittee after which time the Permit will be revoked. 

 
3. Permittee Vehicle Decals 

 
a. AHRA will issue one decal per unmarked vehicle on the vehicle list to each Permittee to be utilized 

only within the AHRA.  Each decal will have the company name displayed.  Permittee vehicle decals 
are to be utilized only for circumstances that require the use of a vehicle not permanently marked 
with the Permittee’s name and/or logo.  (For example, personal vehicles commercially insured 
utilized within the AHRA for commercial operations by fishing guides and/or photographers).  
(Please see 10.C. on page 7 of the SAP for additional information regarding Permittee-owned and 
non-owned vehicles). 

 
b. Permittee vehicle decals may only be used by the Permittee or any agent or employee of the 

Permittee while conducting commercial operations within the AHRA.  It is the responsibility of the 
Permittee to ensure that all Permittee vehicle decals are used only for specified Special Activity 
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Permit uses.  Non-commercial use or misuse of the vehicle decal will result in the confiscation of 
the decals and may result in the required return of all current year Permittee vehicle decals that 
have been issued to the particular Permittee.   

 
c. Permittee vehicle decals may be used on commercial vans, buses and motor coaches chartered 

by or belonging to clients of the Permittees as long as those vehicles are being used as an integral 
part of the trip (i.e. both dropping off and picking up clients) and are not left parked at an AHRA site 
without a driver.  While those vehicles are within an AHRA site, that vehicle and the driver are 
acting as an agent of the Permittee and are subject to all of the rules and regulations contained in 
the SAP, associated Exhibit(s), and State and Federal Laws/Regulations.   
 
For any vehicle that falls within this description and is not listed in the Permittee vehicle list, a written 
request may be submitted to the Rationing and Agreement Coordinator for consideration of the 
issuance of a temporary or floater Permittee vehicle decal to be used on said vehicle. 

 
d. Permittee vehicle decals cannot be used by clients in private vehicles for parking at AHRA sites.  

Decals used in this manner will be confiscated and may result in the required return of all current 
year Permittee vehicle decals that have been issued to the particular Permittee.  All client vehicles 
entering AHRA sites requiring a park pass are required to have a valid park pass. 
 

e. For any Permittee vehicle that falls outside of the parameters listed in Conditions 3.a through 3.d, 
a written request may be submitted to the Rationing and Agreement Coordinator for consideration 
of the issuance of a temporary or floater Permittee vehicle decal to be used on said vehicle. 
 

f. All Permittee vehicle decals must be plainly visible through the front windshield on the lower 
passenger side of the corresponding vehicle.   

 
4. Use Authorizations 
 

a. It is the Permittee’s responsibility to obtain written permission from the landowner(s), including 
railroad right of way, to travel through or use private lands unless otherwise authorized by the State.  
Conviction of the Permittee, any of the Permittee’s agents, employees, or clients of trespass while 
engaged in activities under this Permit may be cause for suspension or revocation of this Permit. 

 
b. The Permittee, any of the Permittee’s agents, employees, clients or vehicles will not interfere with 

other uses occurring on AHRA lands and waters such as grazing, mining, and other recreational 
uses, commercial and private. 
 

c. A  CPW Temporary Wildlife Special Use Permit issued by the appropriate Area Wildlife Manager 
must be obtained for any Permittee utilizing State Wildlife Areas within the AHRA for commercial 
operations. 

 
5. Soliciting and Advertising 
 

Any Permittee utilizing the services of Booking Agents must ensure the Agent’s advertisements, signs, 
statements, circulars, brochures, letterhead, website, and like material, whether oral, electronic, or 
written, must not misrepresent in any way the services provided by either the Agent or the Permittee.  
Additionally, the above materials must clearly state an authorized AHRA Permit Permittee will conduct 
the trip (services) and that the trips (services) are not conducted by the Agent. 

 
6. Environmental Awareness 

 
The Permittee will stress the value of staying on the trail, not collecting natural items, and picking up all 
trash and disposing of it properly.  Permittees and their clients shall endeavor to “leave no trace.” 
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7.    Food Service 
 
Operation and maintenance of all sanitation, food services, and water supplies, systems and facilities 
shall comply with all applicable laws and regulations including the standards of the local department of 
health, Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment and the United States Public Health 
Service. 
 

8. Refuse 
 
a. The Permittee shall guard the purity of waters and dispose of refuse resulting from the authorized 

commercial operations, including waste materials, garbage and rubbish of all kinds in the following 
manner: 
 
1) Refuse, such as cans, bottles, metal, foil, ashes, charcoal, food and all other solid materials 

will be packed out, not buried.  Such waste shall be properly disposed of outside the AHRA in 
compliance with law. 
 

2) Portable toilets and their use are mandatory at all camps at which AHRA does not provide 
established toilet facilities. 

 
3) Permittees are required to provide approved containers for all solid human waste.  Permittee’s 

agents, employees, or clients must utilize these approved containers for the collection of all 
solid human waste.  Solid human waste shall be carried out and disposed of outside the AHRA 
in compliance with law.  Collection and disposal methods must be disclosed to CPW in the 
AHRA Operating and Safety Plan. 

 
4) Clients must be informed of sanitation, litter prevention and human refuse disposal methods 

prior to embarking on commercial trips. 
 

b. No materials will be discharged onto AHRA lands or waters if they contain any substances in 
concentrations that would result in any significant harm to fish and wildlife or to human water 
supplies, including streams, reservoirs and lakes. 
 

9. Fires 
 

a. No fire may be constructed or tended on AHRA administered public lands unless the fire is 
contained in a CPW-furnished grill or fireplace or in a fire pan with rigid sides at least two (2) inches 
in height that is elevated above ground level.     

 
b. All ashes must be carried out and properly disposed of outside the AHRA in compliance with law.   

 
c. Fires and stoves are prohibited within old cabins or historic structures. 

 
d. Cutting or gathering firewood is prohibited except that driftwood from the river may be gathered as 

firewood. 
 

e. No fire will be left unattended.  The Permittee is solely responsible for all fires started by the 
Permittee, or any Permittee agents, employees, or clients.  The Permittee may be held responsible 
for fire suppression costs resulting from wildfires caused by the Permittee, or any Permittee agents, 
employees, or clients. 

 
f. Wildfires shall be reported immediately to the nearest available Law Enforcement Agency.  The 

Permittee is responsible for informing employees and clients of the current fire danger and required 
precautions that may be in effect by CPW, BLM, USFS, counties and/or the State of Colorado. 

 
g. Open fires may be prohibited during certain periods depending on fire danger. 
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10. Wildlife 
 

a. In order to minimize disturbances, the Permittee or any Permittee agents, employees and clients 
will limit the level of noise made within 100 yards of any big game animal or any concentration of 
herons or other sensitive wildlife species. 

 
b. Harassment of any wildlife or livestock is prohibited by the Permittee or Permittee’s agents, 

employees and clients. 
 

c. In Browns Canyon (Section 2b), the Permittee or Permittee’s agents, employees and clients shall 
restrict use east of the river to areas between the river and the railroad tracks to avoid Bighorn 
sheep disturbance. 

 
d. No use on public lands will be allowed on river left between the Five Points Recreation Site and the 

Parkdale Recreation Site to avoid Bighorn sheep disturbance. 
 
11. Day Use / Camp Areas on AHRA Administered Public Lands 
 

a. No year-round, permanent day use or camp areas or equipment caches may be established on 
AHRA administered public lands without written permission from the State.   
The State bears no responsibility for equipment left unattended.    

 
b. All day use and camp areas are to be on a first-come, first-served basis with the exception of 

designated reserved campsites within the AHRA. Issuance of this Permit may specify the 
Permittee’s use of specific imaging locations. 

 
c. All day use facilities must be set up, taken down and removed on the same day. 

 
d. Camp areas may not be held overnight unless the site is occupied by an overnight camp group on 

a commercial trip the night before. 
 

e. The Permittee shall maintain all premises to standards of repair, orderliness, neatness and 
sanitation acceptable to the State.  Day use and camp areas must be kept clean while in use and 
the Permittee shall not allow trash or litter to remain. 

 
f. When day use or camp facilities are dismantled, the area shall be left in substantially the same 

condition as it was prior to the activities authorized. 
 

g. Any Permittee utilizing an AHRA campground site within established recreation sites (developed 
campgrounds) for lunch or other day use activities must reserve a campsite for the day during 
which the site is occupied. 

 
12. Site Specific Requirements 
 

a. Permittees need to be aware of flash flood dangers, especially at Chalk Creek, Badger Creek, 
Bernard Creek and Texas Creek. 

 
b. Permittees may utilize the Vallie Bridge Campground for boat-in or walk-in camping.  Permittee 

vehicles may be driven into the Vallie Bridge Campground circle drive for loading and unloading 
gear only.    Vehicles left onsite must be parked upstream in the designated parking area. 

 
c. Commercial river access at the Five Points Day-Use Recreation Site (Section 4b) is prohibited. 

 
d. Commercial river access at the Five Points Campground (Section 4b) south of Highway 50 is 

authorized.  Access to the river is authorized via the walkway underpass. 
 

e. Commercial river access at the Old Parkdale site (Section 4b) is prohibited. 
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f. The Permittee, or any Permittee agents, employees and clients will limit the level of noise made 
within 100 yards of any residential dwelling to minimize disturbances. 

 
g. Any Imaging Permittee must have written authorization and approval by The Royal Gorge Express 

(RGX) and/or The Union Pacific Railroad (UP) to enter upon premises within the right-of-way in 
order to conduct imaging activities. 

 
1) Written authorization from RGX or UP must be submitted to the State as part of the SAP 

application materials. 
 
h. Scouting rapids, portaging or scouting for fishing locations on the riverbank must be done as much 

as possible below the high-water line to prevent resource damage. 
 
13. Site Conflict Resolution 
 

Should specific sites of commercial operations become overcrowded, the State will identify and 
designate allowable use at these sites in order to reduce conflicts, promote safety and protect the 
resource.  Competitive bidding may be used by the State to resolve site conflict. 

 
14. Permittee Workshop 
 

The Permittee or a management representative shall attend the Permittee Workshop presented by 
CPW.  The Permittee is responsible for all information/policy discussed and shall ensure that the 
information is shared with all employees immediately following the Permittee Workshop or before each 
employee conducts operations within the AHRA.  Permits will not be issued until the Permittee or a 
management representative has attended the workshop.  If a Permit has been issued prior to the 
workshop and the Permittee does not attend, any and all Permits will be immediately suspended and 
may be revoked.  The location, date, and time of this workshop will be provided by separate notification.  
There will be one scheduled make-up Permittee Workshop. 

 
15. Parking 
 

a. No vehicle parking is allowed at any boat ramp within the AHRA unless the trip is loading or 
launching.  

 
b. Parking elsewhere along the river should be in highway pullouts, not on the highway shoulder so 

as not to impede traffic. 
 

c. No vehicle shall be parked in AHRA sites such that it impedes the flow of traffic in any way. 
 
16.  Assignment / Transfer of Permit Privileges Policy 
 

a. All defined terms used herein have the same meaning as set forth in the 
State’s Special Activity Permit template.  Special Activity Permits (“SAPs”) are personal in nature 
and cannot be assigned without the prior express written consent of the State.  A $300 processing 
fee applies to the assignment of SAPs.   

1) If an existing Permittee wishes to assign their SAP to a third party (“Assignee”), the current 
Permittee shall notify the State in advance in writing.  The Permittee and Assignee shall 
schedule a meeting between the State, the Permittee and the Assignee prior to any finalized 
business transactions (i.e. signed contracts, bills of sale). 
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2) Adequate documentation shall be provided to the State showing that a bona fide business 
transfer or sale is intended, including but not limited to contracts, bills of sale, terms, and a 
breakdown of all items that are being sold and their respective costs. The transfer or sale 
must include a substantial portion (more than 75%) of the equipment and other tangible 
assets needed to conduct a business and a substantial portion (more than 75%) of the 
Historical and Allocated Use associated with the Permit averaged over the last five years of 
operation.  

3) The SAP must not be under probation or suspension to be able to be assigned.  If the 
Assignee has an existing AHRA Special Activity Permit(s), such Permit(s) must not be under 
probation or suspension for the Assignee to be eligible for the acquisition of additional Special 
Activity Permit(s). 

4) The Assignee shall provide a detailed written description to the State of the type of services 
to be offered; including any anticipated operational changes from the present Permittee’s 
Approved Use. 

5) The Assignee must be able to meet all standards required in conformance with the Arkansas 
Headwaters Recreation Area Management Plan (AHRA-MP), outfitter licensing requirements 
and other regulations of Federal, State, and Local agencies. 

6) The Assignee shall provide sufficient personal information and referrals, including resumes, 
business references, a listing of other commercial or private Agreements/Permits held in the 
last five (5) years with other public land resource agencies and disclosure of pending legal 
actions against the Assignee for the State to assess the Assignee’s qualifications to operate. 

7) The Assignee shall provide adequate documentation of business agreements or contracts 
such as names of owners, partnership agreements, or articles of incorporation.  The 
Assignee shall disclose the proposed business name and all d.b.a. (s). 

8) An SAP that is transferred may contain terms and conditions that are entirely different from 
the original SAP.  Upon transfer of a SAP, subsequent Use Fee payments will be determined 
by the State based upon the previous season’s Total Gross Receipts for Permittee and any 
anticipated operational changes that are submitted by the Assignee. 

9) The Permittee must pay to the State all outstanding debt in terms of Rationing violations, late 
fees, etc. prior to receiving written approval for the SAP assignment from the State. 

10) The Assignee must receive written approval for the SAP assignment from the State. 

b. Failure to submit any of the above (2.a.1 through 2.a.10) may lead to termination of the transfer 
process.   

c. If the Assignee knowingly, with intent to defraud, provides any false information that facilitates 
assignment of the SAP, whether it is written or oral, the false information will void the assignment 
and the SAP will be revoked.   

d. No one individual, partnership, corporation or company will hold multiple Exhibit Permits for the 
same activity unless a new and distinct business entity is formed requiring a separate tax identity.  
A separate and distinct AHRA Operating and Safety Plan and Permittee Operating Plan for each 
business entity shall be submitted and approved by the State.   

1) A unique and valid Colorado River Outfitter License must be held for each entity.  
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e. The approval of a SAP assignment, and/or the approval for a business entity to hold multiple SAPs 
and/or Exhibits is discretionary with the State. 

17. Assignment of Rationed Use and Historic Use (Boating) 

a. A Permittee’s Rationed Use and Historic Use are described in the Rationing Plan for Commercial 
Boating Use in the Arkansas Headwaters Recreation Area, which is incorporated herein by 
reference. 

b. A Permittee not under probation or suspension with the State may sell or otherwise transfer a 
portion of its Rationed Use or Historic Use within AHRA to another existing Boating Permittee not 
under probation or suspension with the State. 

c. Written notice of a sale and/or transfer of any part of the Permittee’s Historic Use must be provided 
to AHRA 30 days prior of the sale and/or transfer. 

1) This notice must be accompanied by a copy of the transfer agreement with original signatures, 
by all the Permittees involved, approving the terms of the agreement.   

2) The transfer agreement will specify the terms of the transfer, including the section, boats, days 
to be transferred, and the effective date of the sale or transfer. 

d. There will be a $300.00 processing fee for the sale or transfer of Rationed Use or Historic Use. 

e. Leasing, renting or other forms of remuneration for loaning Rationed Use or Historic Use is 
prohibited. 

 


