# **Elkhead Reservoir Fishing Classic Tournament Prizes and Rules**

June 17 - June 25, 2023

#### **PRIZE CATEGORIES**

### TAGGED FISH-1 NORTHERN PIKE and 1 SMALLMOUTH BASS

One northern pike and one smallmouth bass will be tagged and released immediately prior to the tournament with individually numbered 2023 passive integrated transponder (PIT) tags that are not visible to anglers. Fish will be checked for tags at the CPW fish scanning station. If a 2023 tagged smallmouth bass and/or northern pike are/is caught during the tournament, the respective angler(s) will receive a cash award (check) of \$1,500 per fish on the day the fish is caught. This check will be presented by CPW and issued by the Craig Chamber of Commerce. If only one or neither of the 2023 PIT tagged fish are caught during the tournament dates, the remaining cash awards (checks) for this category (either one or both awards) will be drawn for and presented by CPW during the angler drawing at the conclusion of the tournament on Sunday, June 25<sup>th</sup>. The winning angler ticket(s) will be drawn from all tickets dropped by the anglers into the ticket box, and must be identified with the angler number. Angler tickets that are not identified by angler number will be discarded. Please note that northern pike and smallmouth bass were also PIT tagged in advance of the 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, and 2022 Elkhead Fishing Tournaments. These 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, and 2022 tagged fish are excluded from the 2023 tagged fish category, but are still eligible for other prizes during the tournament. The cash awards (checks) for the 2023 tagged fish category apply only to the northern pike and smallmouth bass PIT tagged in 2023.

**CASH AWARDS** – Two, \$1,500 Cash Awards (checks): One each to the angler(s) who catches and turns in a 2023 PIT tagged northern pike and/or 2023 PIT tagged smallmouth bass.

## MOST NORTHERN PIKE and MOST SMALLMOUTH BASS

At the conclusion of the tournament, cash prizes (checks) of \$750 will be awarded to each angler(s) who has/have caught and turned in the most northern pike and/or the most smallmouth bass across the nine-day tournament (June 17<sup>th</sup>-June 25<sup>th</sup>, 2023). The cash prizes (checks) will be awarded at the conclusion of the tournament on Sunday, June 25<sup>th</sup> by CPW with checks issued by the Craig Chamber of Commerce.

**CASH AWARDS** – Two, \$750 Cash Awards (checks): One each to the angler(s) who has/have caught and turned in the most northern pike and/or the most smallmouth bass across the tournament.

### ADDITIONAL DAILY PRIZES

Additional prizes will be awarded daily in the following categories:

Northern Pike	Smallmouth Bass
Smallest per day	Smallest per day
Largest per day	Largest per day
Most caught by day	Most caught by day

### **RULES**

- 1. There is no entry fee required by anglers to participate in this tournament.
- 2. Anglers (ages 16 or older) must possess a valid Colorado fishing license (youth ages 15 and under may fish without a license) and follow all 2023 Colorado Fishing Regulations, including manner of take. All northern pike and smallmouth bass caught must be disposed of by the angler according to 2023 Colorado Fishing Regulations. Anglers not wishing to keep northern pike and smallmouth bass will be allowed to donate their catch to CPW for scientific research.
- 3. A valid Colorado State Parks pass will be required to access the park to get to the CPW fish scanning station.
- 4. All 2023 Colorado boating regulations will be in effect and enforced.
- 5. All boats must be inspected for ANS purposes prior to launch.
- 6. This is a northern pike and smallmouth bass only tournament. Only northern pike and smallmouth bass caught within the June 17<sup>th</sup>-June 25<sup>th</sup>, 2023 tournament from Elkhead Reservoir can be entered in the tournament. Any violations will result in tournament Elkhead Reservoir Fishing Classic Tournament Angler Harvest Incentive Project Page 2

- disqualification. Anglers may possess other species as allowed by 2023 Colorado Fishing Regulations, but they may not be entered in the tournament.
- 7. There is no bag or possession limit for northern pike or smallmouth bass at Elkhead Reservoir.
- 8. Any angler cited for fishing violations and/or violations of tournament rules, will be disqualified and may be fined. If an angler is disqualified from the tournament for any reason, all his/her angler tickets will be removed from the angler ticket box, and the disqualified angler will not be eligible to participate in the angler ticket drawing at the conclusion of the tournament. The disqualified angler will not be eligible for awards/prizes from the point of disqualification forward, i.e. daily prizes previously awarded to the disqualified angler may or may not be relinquished to CPW, at CPW's discretion. If an angler is disqualified, the second place angler will be eligible to qualify for the first place award(s)/prize(s).
- 9. Pooling of fish by anglers is not allowed, and will result in angler disqualification. Only fish caught by an individual angler are eligible to be turned into the CPW fish scanning station with the angler number assigned by CPW to the angler that caught the fish. All anglers fishing in the tournament must be registered and assigned an individual angler number by CPW. Anglers may fish in groups, but each angler is responsible for keeping his/her catch separated from others in the group, and checking in only his/her catch of northern pike and smallmouth bass to the CPW fish scanning station.
- 10. Tournament angling will begin at 6:30am on Saturday, June 17<sup>th</sup>, 2023. Anglers need not register in advance of tournament angling, but anglers fishing prior to the 6:30am start of the tournament on June 17<sup>th</sup> will be disqualified.
- 11. Registration for the tournament is required and may be completed when anglers first present their fish at the CPW fish scanning station. The CPW fish scanning station will be located at the Elkhead Reservoir State Park maintenance shop near the Park entrance, which is north of the access road to the boat ramp. The CPW fish scanning station will be open from 8:00am to 5:00pm daily for the duration of the tournament, except for

- June 17<sup>th</sup> when the tournament will begin at 6:30am and June 25<sup>th</sup> when anglers must have their catch for that day turned into the CPW fish scanning station by 3:00pm.
- 12. During registration, anglers (ages 16 or older) must produce and present their valid Colorado fishing license to CPW staff, and provide their phone number, mailing address, and email address for correspondence regarding winning prizes. Upon completion of tournament registration, anglers will receive an angler number. The angler number will be used to match winning angler tickets to the angler they belong to. All anglers fishing in the tournament must be registered and assigned an individual angler number by CPW.
- 13. Only northern pike and smallmouth bass are eligible for angler tickets and scanning for PIT tags, and must be brought to the CPW fish scanning station dead and in reasonably fresh condition; CPW reminds anglers that it is illegal to transport live fish in Colorado. Anglers will receive one angler ticket for each northern pike or smallmouth bass they present for scanning. All northern pike and smallmouth bass will be marked at the CPW fish scanning station after the fish are scanned so that anglers cannot receive multiple angler tickets for an individual fish.
- 14. Each angler will be responsible for writing his/her angler number and last name on all angler tickets he/she enters. Angler tickets without an angler number will not be eligible for awards/prizes.
- 15. Angler tickets will be dropped into a locked box at the CPW fish scanning station by each angler as the angler checks out. This box will remain closed and locked until the angler ticket drawing at the conclusion of the tournament on Sunday, June 25<sup>th</sup>, 2023.
- 16. Tournament angling will conclude on Sunday, June 25<sup>th</sup>, 2023. Anglers must have their catch of northern pike and smallmouth bass for that day turned into the CPW fish scanning station by 3:00pm on June 25<sup>th</sup> to qualify for tournament awards/prizes. Fish checked-in at the CPW fish scanning station after 3:00pm on June 25<sup>th</sup> will not be considered for awards/prizes for that day and/or the tournament overall.
- 17. There are no daily time restrictions on angling within the official tournament period, other than the tournament start time of 6:30am on Saturday, June 17<sup>th</sup>, 2023 and the

- final check-in of fish by anglers at the CPW fish scanning station on the last day of the tournament, Sunday, June 25<sup>th</sup>, 2023, which must occur by 3:00pm. However, fish will be scanned, measured, and enumerated only when the CPW fish scanning station is open.
- 18. With the exception of the last day of the tournament, Sunday, June 25<sup>th</sup>, 2023, anglers must have their catch of northern pike and smallmouth bass turned into the CPW fish scanning station by 5:00pm on the day the fish are caught (so the fish can be scanned for PIT tags) to qualify for the daily "most fish caught" prize. Fish caught after 5:00pm must be presented at the CPW fish scanning station before 9:00am the following morning to be entered into the current day's prize tally. On June 25<sup>th</sup>, anglers must have checked-in their fish at the CPW fish scanning station by 3:00pm to qualify for awards/prizes for that day and/or the tournament overall.
- 19. Winners not present to claim their cash awards (checks)/prizes will be contacted by Monday, July 10<sup>th</sup>, 2023, using the angler number contact information. To claim their cash awards (checks)/prizes, winners must contact CPW personnel at the Yampa State Park office, located at 6185 US. Hwy. 40 in Hayden (970-276-2061). Any cash awards (checks)/prizes unclaimed after Wednesday, August 30<sup>th</sup>, 2023 will be forfeited.
- 20. Colorado Parks and Wildlife claims no responsibility or liability for accidents occurring related to this tournament.
- 21. Colorado Parks and Wildlife and Colorado Water Conservation Board employees are not eligible for participation in the tournament.
- 22. In the event of a tiebreaker or dispute, the ruling of the NW Region Senior Aquatic Biologist will be final.