Annual Committee Officer Elections, Subcommittee Assignments, 2023 Committee Meeting Dates
TOPIC

		<u>Fletcher Jacobs</u> PREPARED BY	9/16/2022 DATE
X	ACTION ITEM	INFORMATION DRAFT COPY	FINAL X COPY

PURPOSE:

Pursuant to the Parks and Wildlife Commission's Policy A-104, the State Recreational Trails Committee (the Committee), at their annual September meeting, shall elect officers and make appointments to the Committee's grant review and ranking subcommittees. In addition, the Committee shall establish its annual meeting dates for the upcoming year.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

The authorities and the roles of the Committee are set forth in sections 33-11-105 through 33-11-107, Colorado Revised Statutes. The Committee consists of nine members appointed by the Commission representing Colorado's seven congressional districts, one member appointed from the state at large and one member that represents the GOCO Board. The Committee also serves as Colorado's State Recreational Trail Advisory Committee as required by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) to be eligible for Recreational Trails Program (RTP) funds. To be in compliance with federal RTP funding eligibility rules, committee membership must include trail *users* and there must be representation of off-road motorized recreational trail users and representation of non-motorized recreational trail users.

The Committee oversees the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Division's annual trail grant application reviews, scoring and ranking processes. The Committee then submits its recommendations for grant funding strategies to the Commission for their review, consideration and final approval. The Commission, through its Policy A-104, has authorized a subcommittee structure to assist the Committee in formulating its grant recommendations.

Grant Review and Ranking Subcommittee membership and structures are set forth in Policy A-104. Subcommittee members are appointed for the purpose of reviewing and ranking grants and compiling funding recommendations for the Committee. Subcommittees are chaired by Committee members, and include representatives from GOCO, CPW Trails Program staff, outside peer reviewers and ex-officio representatives from land management agencies.

DISCUSSION AND SUMMARY

Each year, at the annual meeting convened in September, the Committee must hold an election of officers for the coming year. The officers consist of a Chairperson and a Vice Chair. Ms. Janelle Kukuk served as Chair and Ms. Jill Ozarski served as Vice Chair until 6/30/2022. Committee members are encouraged to consider and submit nominations for these positions.

In addition, Committee members are asked to serve on the Committee's Grant Review and Ranking Subcommittees as chairpersons or in positions on the Off-highway subcommittee as prescribed by Policy A-104. Attached is the current Committee roster and a table that outlines the subcommittees and Committee members who have served on the subcommittees for the previous year.

As a final action item, the Committee shall discuss and select dates for the Committee's meeting over the next year.

SUGGESTED MOTION:		
None offered at this time		
Approved for submittal to the State Recreational Trails Committee	Date	

FY23 State Recreational Trails Committee Roster July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2023

COMMITTEE MEMBERS	DISTRICT/REPRESENTATION
Jill Ozarski	District 1
2 nd Term Expiration: 06/30/2025	Non-Motorized
Meara McQuain	District 2
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2025	Non-motorized
761.5	District
Mick Daniel	District 3
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2024	Diversified
Brad Schwartz	District 4
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2024	Motorized
•	
Jason Meyer	District 5
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2025	Local Government
VACANT	District 6
1 st Term Expiration: TBD	<u>Diversified or Motorized</u>
X 1 70 11	District.
Jack Placchi	District 7
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2025	Non-motorized
Bevin Carithers	District 8
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2026	Non-Motorized
-	
Janelle Kukuk	At Large
2 nd Term Expiration 06/30/2024	Snowmobile Representative
	Snowmobile Subcommittee Chair
	Motorized
Heather Hormell	At Large
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2026	OHV Subcommittee Chair
	Motorized
Pam Denahy	GOCO Representative
Term Expiration: N/A	

STC Subcommittees/Assignments	2022 Assignments	2023 Assignments
Snowmobile Capital Grants	Janelle Kukuk	Janelle Kukuk
Off-Highway Vehicle Trail Grants		
OHV Subcommittee Chair	Heather Hormell	Heather Hormell
Non-Motorized Representative	Jack Placchi	Jack Placchi
Diversified Recreationalist	Scott Jones	
Non-Motorized Construction	Meara McQuain	Pam Denahy
Non-Motorized Maintenance	Scott Jones	Meara McQuain
Non-Motorized Planning and Support	Pam Denahy	Jason Meyer
Non-Motorized LWCF	Jill Ozarski	Jill Ozarski



Colorado's Recreational Trails Committee

Established January 1, 1985 1313 Sherman Street, Room #618 • Denver, CO 80201 Trails@state.co.us

2023 State Trails Program Meeting Schedule

Friday, February 3rd

2023 Non-Motorized Grant funding recommendation approval CPW Commission March 15-16 for final approval

Friday, April 7th

2024 OHV Grant funding recommendation approval CPW Commission May 3-4 for final approval

Friday, June 2nd

2024 Snow Program Grant funding approval CPW Commission July 20-21 for final approval

Friday, September 14th-15th

Away meeting in SW Colorado - Annual Meeting/Election of Officers/2024 Dates Optional Field Trip on Thursday - No PWC action

Friday, December 1st

If needed (Virtual)

