FY24 Officer Elections, Subcommittee Assignments, and Committee Meeting Dates

		TOPIC <u>Fletcher Jacobs</u> PREPARED BY	9/15/2023 DATE		
X	ACTION ITEM	INFORMATIO ITEM	ON <u>X</u>	DRAFT _COPY _	FINAL COPY

PURPOSE:

Pursuant to the Parks and Wildlife Commission's Policy A-104, the State Recreational Trails Committee (the Committee), at their annual September meeting, shall elect officers and make appointments to the Committee's grant review and ranking subcommittees. In addition, the Committee shall establish its annual meeting dates for the upcoming year.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

The authorities and the roles of the Committee are set forth in sections 33-11-105 through 33-11-107, Colorado Revised Statutes. The Committee consists of eleven members appointed by the Commission representing Colorado's eight congressional districts, two members appointed from the state at large and one member that represents the GOCO Board. The Committee also serves as Colorado's State Recreational Trail Advisory Committee as required by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) to be eligible for Recreational Trails Program (RTP) funds. To be in compliance with federal RTP funding eligibility rules, committee membership must include trail *users* and there must be representation of off-road motorized recreational trail users and representation of non-motorized recreational trail users.

The Committee oversees the Colorado Parks and Wildlife Division's annual trail grant application reviews, scoring and ranking processes. The Committee then submits its recommendations for grant funding strategies to the Commission for their review, consideration and final approval. The Commission, through its Policy A-104, has authorized a subcommittee structure to assist the Committee in formulating its grant recommendations.

Grant Review and Ranking Subcommittee membership and structures are set forth in Policy A-104. Subcommittee members are appointed for the purpose of reviewing and ranking grants and compiling funding recommendations for the Committee. Subcommittees are chaired by Committee members, and include representatives from GOCO, CPW Trails Program staff, outside peer reviewers and ex-officio representatives from land management agencies.

DISCUSSION AND SUMMARY

Each year, at the annual meeting convened in September, the Committee must hold an election of officers for the coming year. The officers consist of a Chairperson and a Vice Chair. Ms. Janelle Kukuk served as Chair and Ms. Jill Ozarski served as Vice Chair until 6/30/2023. Committee members are encouraged to consider and submit nominations for these positions.

In addition, Committee members are asked to serve on the Committee's Grant Review and Ranking Subcommittees as chairpersons or in positions on the Off-highway subcommittee as prescribed by Policy A-104. Attached is the current Committee roster and a table that outlines the subcommittees and Committee members who have served on the subcommittees for the previous year.

As a final piece of the action item, the Committee shall discuss and select dates for the Committee's meeting over the next year.

SUGGESTED MOTION:	
I move to accept the officer elections, subcommittee	assignments, and 2024
Committee Meeting Dates as discussed by the comm	nittee.
Approved for submittal to the State Recreational Trails Committee	Date

FY24 State Recreational Trails Committee Roster July 1, 2023 – June 30, 2024

COMMITTEE MEMBERS	DISTRICT/REPRESENTATION		
Jill Ozarski	District 1		
2 nd Term Expiration: 06/30/2025	Non-Motorized		
Meara McQuain	District 2		
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2025	Non-motorized		
	D:		
Mick Daniel	District 3		
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2024	Diversified		
Brad Schwartz	District 4		
1st Term Expiration: 06/30/2024	Motorized		
1 Term Expiration: 00/30/2024	Wiotorized		
Jason Meyer	District 5		
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2025	Local Government		
1			
VACANT	District 6		
1 st Term Expiration: TBD	<u>Diversified or Motorized</u>		
Jack Placchi	District 7		
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2025	Non-motorized		
Bevin Carithers	District 8		
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2026	Non-Motorized		
2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2	1,000		
Janelle Kukuk	At Large		
2 nd Term Expiration 06/30/2024	Snowmobile Representative		
	Motorized		
Heather Hormell	At Large		
1 st Term Expiration: 06/30/2026	OHV Representative		
	Motorized		
Pam Denahy	GOCO Representative		
Term Expiration: N/A			

STC Subcommittees/Assignments	2023 Assignments	2024 Assignments
Snowmobile Capital Grants	Janelle Kukuk	
Off-Highway Vehicle Trail Grants		
OHV Subcommittee Chair	Heather Hormell	
Non-Motorized Representative	Jack Placchi	
Non-Motorized Construction	Pam Denahy	
Non-Motorized Maintenance	Meara McQuain	
Non-Motorized Planning and Support	Pam Denahy	
Non-Motorized LWCF	Jill Ozarski	



Colorado's Recreational Trails Committee

Established January 1, 1985 1313 Sherman Street, Room #618 • Denver, CO 80201 Trails@state.co.us

Proposed 2024 State Trails Program Meeting Schedule

Friday, February 9th

2023 Non-Motorized Grant funding recommendation approval *CPW Commission March 13th - 14th for final approval*

Friday, April 5th

2024 OHV Grant funding recommendation approval *CPW Commission May 3rd - 4th for final approval*

Friday, May 31st

2024 Snow Program Grant funding approval *CPW Commission June* 12th - 13th for final approval

Friday, September 12th-13th

Away meeting in SE Colorado - Annual Meeting/Election of Officers/2025 Dates Optional Field Trip on Thursday - No PWC action

Friday, December 6th

If needed (Virtual)

