NOTICE: CPW Director Prenzlow grants a temporary exemption to allow hunter education to be delivered online from November 15th, 2020 - February 15th, 2021.
CPW has determined this exemption is necessary due to public health directives and protection of public health, safety and welfare. This exemption may be extended, subject to review prior to the expiration date listed.
Any student who is at least 11 years old, and finishes this 100% online course(Hunter-Ed.com/Colorado)
by Feburary 15th will be fully Hunter Ed certified for life, and no in person class will be required. Official Colorado Hunter Education cards will be mailed to graduates automatically after course completion.
Alternately, students are encouraged to obtain an
apprentice certificate that will allow them to put in for the draw and come back to our classes once Hunter Education courses resume.
On March 30, the CPW Commission approved an emergency regulation that will allow an individual who has previously used an apprentice certificate but was unable to complete a standard hunter education course in 2020 with the opportunity to obtain a second apprentice certificate.
Previous years' apprentice certificates will not be automatically renewed.
Individuals will have to go to
and add a new apprentice certificate into their profile before applying for the limited license big game draw.
Colorado law requires that anyone born on or after January 1, 1949, complete an approved hunter education course before applying for or buying a Colorado hunting license. Colorado Parks and Wildlife Hunter Education Courses, led by certified volunteer hunter education instructors and/or CPW staff, are offered throughout the state year-round.
Courses are offered in several formats:
Traditional Classes - Students complete the course in a classroom setting that includes lectures, hands-on activities and videos.
Internet Course + Conclusion Class - Students complete a portion of the course online at their convenience, and then attend a shorter class than required by the traditional course.
Bowhunter Education Class - Bowhunter education is not a required course in Colorado, but is offered as an opportunity to learn additional skills.
Accommodations for Persons with Disabilities
If you need special accommodations as a result of a disability, please contact the Hunter Education Instructor or the Hunter Education Office at 303-291-7233 or 303-291-7470.
If you are hearing impaired and need Sign Language Interpretation, please download the
Accommodations Form and send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org or a fax to 303-291-7113 to request the Hunter Education Interpreter(s).
Note: The hunter education team request that you contact us with at least 15 days notice prior to the event you wish to attend.
To learn more about how CPW provides opportunities to individuals with disabilities please see our Accessibility Page.