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Notice to Boaters at

Chatfield State Park
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o Minimum age for motorboat operators is 16
years old. Persons 14 years old to under 16
years of age that operate vessels on Colorado
waters must be certified and have their
boating safety certificate on their person
and available for inspection when operating
any motorized vessel. This includes all
motorboats, personal watercraft, and
sailboats when under mechanical power.

o Children under the age of 13 who are on
board a vessel in the water must be wearing
a personal flotation device.

www.cpw.state.co.us




Please examine the boating map (other side) before launching. A pamphlet of Colorado boating regulations is available at the
entrance stations and launching ramps. It is your responsibility to know the rules, which are strictly enforced for your safety.

Under 16 feet
Safety Equipment Requirements 16 feet and over

1. A U.S.C.G. approved personal flotation device (PFD) of the proper type for each person on board. X
2. One U.S.C.G. approved throwable PFD.
3. An effective whistle or horn of the proper type, on all vessels, except hand-propelled on whitewater. X

4. A U.S.C.G. approved fire extinguisher in good operating condition (motorboats only). Outboard
motorboats less than 26 feet long, of open construction, are not required to carry fire extinguishers,
but it is advisable.

X X XX X

5. Valid boat registration (except hand propelled). X
6. All hand propelled rafts, canoes and kayaks must be marked with name and address.

Water Regulations (General)

1. Boat ramps, docks, designated wakeless areas and a distance of 150’ from any fisherman or moored boat are NO WAKE zones.
(NO WAKE means that the boat should be planed flat and that there is no white water from front or rear of the boat).

2. Swimming is allowed only at the designated swim beaches.

3. Air inflated floating devices may be used in the swim area only, unless they are of separate multi-compartment construction and
comply with the Colorado boating statutes.

4. The speed limit on the reservoir is 40 mph, 86 decibels sound level maximum.

5. Travel counterclockwise while operating motorized vessels within the power zone.

Water-Skiing
1. Skiing is permitted only in the designated power zone. Travel counterclockwise around the center line buoys.
2. Deep water starts and stops are permitted.

3. In addition to the driver, another person is required in the boat to observe the progress of the person being towed.
“It takes three to ski”.

4. The use of a red flag is required to signal the presence of a downed skier or equipment trailing the boat.

5. If you wish to drop a ski, please drop it near the wakeless zones to avoid creating a hazard.

Launch Ramps & Docks
1. Because of the high volume of boats using the lake, boat launch ramps are not designated for launching or loading only. Use any open lane.
2. The position of your tow vehicle and trailer “in-line” dictates the order in which vessels will launch and load.

3. For loading efficiency, please instruct someone from your party on how to operate your vessel and have them keep the
vessel in the harbor until your trailer is dockside. PLEASE DO NOT TIE UP THE DOCK WHILE RETRIEVING YOUR TRAILER.
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Your suggestions are welcome and may be made to the Park Manager of Chattfield State Park, at (303) 791-7275.



