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and are intended only as a guide. Complete Colorado wildlife statutes and regulations are
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CPW ADMINISTRATIVE, REGIONAL & AREA OFFICE LOCATIONS

ADMINISTRATION REGISTRATION OFFICE

6060 Broadway Boat, Snowmobile, Off-Highway Vehicle

Denver, 80216 13787 US Hwy 85 N

303-297-1192 (M—F, 8 a.m.—5 p.m. MT) Littleton, 80125

ONLY the offices below can assist hunters with animal checks and taking samples that are related
to hunting activities. See the CPW website for a complete list of our parks locations that can
also sell licenses, issue duplicate licenses and accept some licenses for refunds.

BRUSH GRAND JUNCTION MONTE VISTA

28167 County Rd. T 711 Independent Ave. 0722S.Rd. 1E.

Brush, 80723 Grand Junction, 81505 Monte Vista, 81144
970-842-6300 970-255-6100 719-587-6900
COLORADO SPRINGS GUNNISON MONTROSE

4255 Sinton Rd. 200 S. Spruce St. 2300 S. Townsend Ave.
Colorado Springs, 80907 Gunnison, 81230 Montrose, 81401
719-227-5200 970-641-7060 970-252-6000

DENVER HOT SULPHUR SPRINGS PUEBLO

6060 Broadway 346 Grand County Rd. 362 600 Pueblo Reservoir Rd.

Denver, 80216

Hot Sulphur Springs, 80451

Pueblo, 81005

303-291-7227 970-725-6200 719-561-5300

DURANGO LAMAR SALIDA

151 E. 16th St. 2500 S. Main St. 7405 Hwy. 50

Durango, 81301 Lamar, 81052 Salida, 81201
970-247-0855 719-336-6600 719-530-5520

FORT COLLINS MEEKER STEAMBOAT SPRINGS
317 W. Prospect Rd. 73485 Hwy. 64 925 Weiss Dr.

Fort Collins, 80526 Meeker, 81641 Steamboat Springs, 80487
970-472-4300 970-878-6090 970-870-3333

GLENWOOD SPRINGS
0088 Wildlife Way
Glenwood Springs, 81601
970-947-2920




WHAT'S NEW LICENSES

WHAT’'S NEW: 2023

n PROPER IDENTIFICATION and PROOF of residency (for Colorado residents).
n PROOF of hunter education.
B HABITAT STAMP: A 2023 ($11.50) or lifetime ($345.36) Habitat Stamp is

» KEEP COLORADO WILD PASS (COLORADO RESIDENTS ONLY): The $29 Keep Colo-
rado Wild Pass is added to annual vehicle registration through the Division of
Motor Vehicles (DMV). The $29 pass fee is included automatically unless you

choose to opt out.

» ACCESS LICENSES AND PASSES IN THE MYCOLORADO™ APP: CPW resident fish-
ing, small game, small game fishing combination licenses and the new Keep
Colorado Wild Pass are now accessible through the myColorado™ app! Visit

mycolorado.gov to learn more.

» CHECK OUR OTHER REGULATION BROCHURES FOR MORE INFORMATION: While

there is nothing of note that is new for the Walk-In Access Program in

2023, be sure to check out the other regulation brochures for more hunting
and outdoor recreation information. Depending on the activity you'd like

to do on our state's public lands, our other brochures such as the Small
Game & Waterfowl, Colorado State Recreation Lands, Fishing and Big

Game, contain useful additional information to help you recreate and hunt

responsibly. Be sure to take a look!

LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

1. Hunters must have an annual youth small-game/furbearer, small-game

required prior to buying a license for anyone ages 18-64.

NOTE: A Social Security number or Individual Taxpayer Identification
number is required for hunters age 12 and older, per federal law.

LICENSE INFORMATION

LICENSE FEES & HABITAT STAMPS

SMALL GAME RESIDENT NONRESIDENT
» Habitat Stamp (required, ages 18—64) $11.50 $11.50
» Small Game $33.96 $93.78
» Small Game (one-day) $15.55 $19.01
» Small Game (additional-day) $7.50 $7.50
» Youth Small Game & Furbearer (under 18) $1.40 $1.40
» Small Game & Fishing Combo $56.97 n/a
» Furbearer License Only $33.96 $93.78
» Furbearer Harvest Permit $10 $10
» (olorado Waterfowl Stamp $11.50 $11.50
» Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp $31 $31
» Senior Small Game/Fishing Combo $33.54 n/a

(Residents age 65 and older)

» Senior Annual Small Game for
Lifetime Fishing License Holders $24.34 n/a
(Senior Columbine or Centennial lifetime fishing license holders only)

» First Responder Lifetime

Small Game/Fishing Combo free n/a

(Resident only, permanent occupational disability, see page 2)
» Veterans Lifetime Small Game/Fishing Combo free n/a

(Resident only, 60% disabled or Purple Heart recipient, see page 2)
» Band-tailed Pigeon Permit $5 %5
BIG GAME
» DEER

Resident adult $45.46

Resident youth $17.57

Nonresident adult/fishing cCOMBO..........eeevvvvvevvvvveennns $456.14

Nonresident youth/fishing cOmbo..........ccccccevveesssiinns $116.50
» ELK

Resident adult $62.72

Resident youth $17.57

Nonresident bull/fishing COMbO...........ceuueeeveeeereerrrrnnns $760.99
Nonresident either-sex/fishing combo... .

Nonresident cow/fishing combo ....... .. $760.99

Nonresident youth/fishing cOMbO...........ccccccccccccvnees $116.50
» PRONGHORN

Resident adult $45.46

Resident youth $17.57

Nonresident adult/fishing combo..............cccccccccrreees $456.14

Nonresident youth/fishing combo. .. $116.50

Prices include the 25-cent search-and-rescue fee and the $1.50 fee for the Wildlife Education
Fund if applicable.

(annual, 1-day or additional day, plus the furbearer harvest permit if ap-
plicable; see number 5 below), annual combo small-game/fishing license
(plus the furbearer harvest permit if applicable; see number 5 below), or
furbearer license. Hunters must carry their license when hunting and
show it when requested by law enforcement officers.

2. Annual fishing, small-game and furbearer licenses, the furbearer harvest
permit, and the Colorado Waterfowl Stamps and Habitat Stamps are valid
March 1 through March 31 of the following year (13 months). Lifetime
combo small-game/fishing licenses are valid as long as you are a Colorado
resident.

3. In order to hunt small game in any seasons that continue beyond March
31, 2023, you must purchase a 2023 small-game license.

4.T0 HUNT & TAKE SMALL GAME, you need a small-game license, a combo small-
game/fishing or a lifetime combo small-game/fishing license. Small-game
hunters must register with HIP before their first hunt. See information
about the Harvest Information Program (HIP) on page 5.

5.T0 HUNT FURBEARERS, you will need to purchase either a furbearer license
(to harvest furbearers ONLY) or a small-game license (including daily
small-game licenses and combo small-game/fishing licenses) AND a $10
annual furbearer harvest permit. See number 6 below for the exception for
coyote.

6.TO HUNT COYOTES, you need a small-game license or a furbearer license. An
annual furbearer harvest permit is NOT required to hunt or take coyote.
During big-game seasons, if you have an unfilled big-game license for the
same season and unit, you may hunt coyote without a small-game or fur-
bearer license. You must use the same method of take for coyotes as your
big-game license allows. Once the big-game license has been filled, hunters
must purchase a small-game or furbearer license to continue hunting
coyotes, and, if using a rifle, it must be .23 caliber or smaller.

7.TO HUNT EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVES, and other invasive species, you must have
a hunter education card; however, a hunting license is not required. See
page 4.

8.TO HUNT COMMON SNAPPING TURTLES, you need a small-game or fishing
license.

9.T0 HUNT WATERFOWL, you need a small-game hunting license. If you are
16 or older, you also must have the $31 Federal Migratory Bird Hunting
and Conservation Stamp (Duck Stamp) AND the $11.50 Colorado State
Waterfowl] Stamp to hunt waterfowl. COLORADO WATERFOWL STAMP: The state
stamp is printed on your hunting license and validated by signing your
name in ink on the license. FEDERAL DUCK STAMP: The federal stamp is avail-
able after July 1 online, by phone and at select post offices (fws.gov/birds/
get-involved/duck-stamp.php). It is valid when you sign your name in
ink across the face of the stamp. It is also available at CPW ofices and sales
agents. When purchased at state outlets, an electronic stamp is issued. This
instantly gives you a unique code that is valid for 45 days from the date
of issue, sufficient time for the gum-backed federal stamp to arrive in the
mail. A federal stamp is not required to take light geese during the conserva-
tion order season. See more about legal migratory bird hunting methods in
the 2023 Colorado Small Game & Waterfowl brochure.

10.T0 HUNT SANDHILL CRANES, a separate federal permit number, available
through HIP (see page 5) is required.

11. TO HUNT BAND-TAILED PIGEONS, a permit ($5) is required in addition to the
small-game license. The permit is available online, by phone, at CPW of-
fices and at sales agents.

12.If a license is restricted to a specific area, you can hunt only that area.

13. Licenses are not transferable.

14. False statements made in buying a license and altering a license are illegal
and void the license.

15. All license exchanges will be charged a $5.00 fee.

CPW.STATE.CO.US 1



LICENSES

1 | RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS

or accept a driver's license that shows an address other than in Colorado.

1. STANDARD COLORADO RESIDENT

a. Requirements: You must live in Colorado for at least 6 consecutive months immediately prior
to buying or applying for any resident CPW product, have your primary residence in Colo-
rado and have not applied for or purchased a resident license or pass outside of Colorado in

the last 6 months.

b. Proof: Current and valid Colorado driver’s license/ID with a Colorado address issued 6 or
more months prior. If the Colorado driver’s license/ID is not 6 months old, you must provide
at least two forms of additional residency proof, as outlined in "Additional Residency Proofs"

below.
2. STUDENT: ATTENDING SCHOOL FULL-TIME IN COLORADO

a. Requirements: You must be attending school full time at an accredited Colorado school start-
ing at least 6 months prior to buying or applying for any resident CPW product.
b. Proof: Student ID, name of institution, date you became a full-time student, school transcript

showing full-time status.
3. STUDENT: ATTENDING SCHOOL FULL-TIME OUTSIDE OF COLORADO

a. Requirements: You must meet Colorado residency requirements and be attending an accred-

ited school outside of Colorado, paying nonresident tuition.

b. Proof: Student ID, name of institution, date you became a full-time student, proof of out-of-

state tuition payment.
4. MILITARY: STATIONED IN COLORADO

a. Requirements: You must be active-duty military stationed in Colorado. Military member's
spouse and/or dependants share the same residency status. Residency begins the date the

orders begin.
b. Proof: Military ID and orders.

5. MILITARY: COLORADO HOME OF RECORD

a. Requirements: You must be active-duty military stationed outside of Colorado, but with Colo-
rado as your home of record, paying income tax as a Colorado resident. Military member's

spouse and/or dependants share the same residency status.
b. Proof: Military ID and orders.
6.YOUTH

Children under the age of 18 have the same residency status as their parent, legal guardian or

person with whom they live the majority of the time per court order.

-

. ADDITIONAL RESIDENCY PROOFS

If you otherwise meet residency requirements but your Colorado driver’s license or ID was
issued or renewed less than 6 months ago, or you have a CPW-approved religious exemp-
tion to photo identification on your record, you must provide at least two additional proofs of
residency showing 6 consecutive months of Colorado residency immediately prior to buying
or applying for a license. Those proofs include: income sources (pay stubs), utility bills, state
income tax documents (as a full-time resident), lease agreements/rent receipts, motor vehicle

registration, voter registration.
2. MULTIPLE HOMES

If you have a home in Colorado and another location, call 303-297-1192 to make sure you com-

cpw.state.co.us/proofofresidency
» The physical residence address you give to buy or apply for a license must be the same as the ad-
dress given for Colorado state income tax purposes. A PO. Box is NOT a valid physical address.

» You terminate your Colorado residency if you apply for, buy or accept a resident hunting, fishing
or trapping license issued by another state or foreign country, register to vote outside Colorado

2 | HUNTER EDUCATION
HUNTER EDUCATION (SAFETY) REQUIREMENTS

1. Anyone born on or after January 1, 1949,
must have a hunter education card to hunt in
Colorado.

N

. A hunter education card is needed to apply for/
buy a license.

3. Your hunter education card must be carried
while hunting, unless it is verified and your li-
cense is marked with a “V2” To get your hunter
education card verified, take your hunter
education card to a CPW office (listed on inside
front cover) or state park.

4. CPW honors hunter education cards from
other states, provinces and countries.

HUNTER EDUCATION EXEMPTIONS

1. Individuals over age 50 or active duty U.S.
military and veterans can obtain a hunter
education certificate by testing out of hunter
education: cpw.info/hunter-education-test-
out

2. An apprentice certificate can be obtained for
hunters who are at least 10 years old and who
must be accompanied by a mentor in the field.
This hunter education waiver can be obtained
twice in a lifetime: cpw.info/apprentice-
certificate

» For more information, go to: cpw.info/hunter-
education

3 | HABITAT STAMPS

Habitat Stamps are REQUIRED for hunters and cost
$11.50; only one is required per person, per year
for anyone ages 18-64. Habitat Stamps are now
valid March 1-March 31 of the following year (13
months).

» A lifetime stamp is $345.36.

» Anyone buying a one-day or additional-day
license for fishing and/or small game is exempt
from purchasing the Habitat Stamp with the
first two of these licenses. The habitat fee will
be assessed when a third one-day or addition-
al-day license is purchased for fishing or small
game.

» Anyone who is approved in the Columbine, Blue
Spruce, Independence and/or Big Game Mobil-
ity programs is exempt from the Habitat Stamp
requirement. See cpw.info/accessibility

» For more information, go to: cpw.info/habi-
tat-stamp

ply with Colorado residency requirements before obtaining a CPW license or state park pass.

SPECIAL LICENSE INFORMATION

YOUTH LICENSES & MENTOR HUNTING
People under age 18 must have a license to hunt small game. A youth small-
game license is for hunters 17 and younger, and costs $1.40. If a youth plans
on hunting with a youth small-game license, they must be accompanied by a
mentor and must meet hunter education requirements. A mentor must be 18 or
older and must meet hunter education requirements; mentors aren't required
to hunt. While hunting, youths and mentors must be able to see and hear each
other without binoculars, radios, or other aids. Youths also have the option to
purchase an adult small-game license, which allows them to hunt without a
mentor, as long as they meet hunter education requirements.

At age 18, hunters must buy an adult license. Mentors are not permitted to
hunt ducks, geese, mergansers or coots during the youth waterfowl hunt season.

CPW offers several licenses for hunters and anglers with disabilities.
Go to cpw.info/accessibility for more license information and how to apply.
These licenses require advance legal paperwork submissions.

RESIDENT FIRST RESPONDER LIFETIME COMBO LICENSE

Colorado resident first responders who have proof of a permanent occupa-
tional disability can qualify for the First Responder program to obtain a lifetime
combo small game/fishing license.

RESIDENT DISABLED VETERAN LIFETIME COMBO LICENSE

Military veterans who have a service-connected disability (with an overall com-
bined rating of 60% or more by the Dept. of Veteran's Affairs) and are residents
of Colorado can obtain a lifetime combo small game/fishing license.

2 2023 COLORADO LATE CROPLAND WALK-IN ATLAS



GENERAL HUNTING LAWS

1. Colorado Parks and Wildlife can post firing lines at its properties.

2.1t is illegal to kill, capture, injure or harass wildlife from a motor vehicle or
an aircraft. It is also illegal to operate aircraft with intent to injure, harass,
drive or rally wildlife. It is illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow
from a motor vehicle or an aircraft.

. It is illegal to discharge a firearm or release an arrow from, on or across a
public road. Hunting with rifles, handguns, shotguns firing a single slug
and archery equipment is prohibited within 50 feet on each side of the
center line of any public road. On a divided road, the prohibition includes
the median, and the 50-foot requirement is measured from the center line
of both roads.

. It is illegal to carry or have a firearm, except a pistol or revolver, in or on a
motor vehicle unless the chamber is unloaded. While using artificial light
from a vehicle, it is illegal to have a firearm with cartridges in the chamber
or magazine, or possess a strung bow unless the bow is cased.

5. You must take edible portions of meat from the field and prepare for hu-
man consumption. Do not leave wounded wildlife (or wildlife that might
be wounded) without attempting to track and kill it.

. Possession of wildlife is evidence you hunted.

. Small-game and migratory bird hunters are not required to wear solid,
fluorescent orange or pink clothes. However, CPW encourages you to wear
fluorescent orange or pink clothes for safety.

. You must stop at CPW check stations when told to do so.

. Violations of Colorado wildlife laws carry point values. You can face sus-
pension of license privileges for up to five years or more if you accumulate
20 or more points in five years.

10. During deer, elk, pronghorn and bear seasons, firearms (except hand-
guns) must be unloaded in the chamber and magazine when carried on an
off-highway vehicle (OHV). Firearms (except handguns) and bows carried
on an OHV must be fully enclosed in a hard or soft case. Scabbards or cas-
es with open ends or sides are prohibited. This regulation does not apply to
landowners or their agents carrying a firearm on an OHV for the purpose
of taking depredating wildlife on property owned or leased by them.

11. CALIBER RESTRICTION: It is illegal to hunt game birds, small-game animals or
furbearers with a centerfire rifle larger than .23 caliber in regular rifle deer
and elk seasons west of I-25, unless you have an unfilled deer or elk license
for the season you are hunting. A small-game license is required.

RESTRICTIONS

CHILD SUPPORT DELINQUENCY

State law requires a Social Security number to buy a license. It is not dis-
played on the license but is provided, if requested, to Child Support Enforce-
ment authorities. Hunting and fishing licenses are not issued to those sus-
pended for noncompliance with child support. Any current licenses become
invalid if held by an individual who is noncompliant with child support.

WEAPONS RESTRICTIONS

Colorado and federal laws prohibit people convicted of certain crimes, such
as domestic violence, from possessing weapons even for hunting. If you've
been convicted of a crime, check with the appropriate law enforcement
authority to find out how the laws apply to you.

DONATING GAME MEAT

You can donate edible parts of wildlife to a like-license holder anywhere or

to anyone at the recipient’s home. A like-license is for the same species, sex,
dates and manner of take as the donors license. Bag and possession limits ap-
ply to donors and recipients and birds must be properly tagged. See the 2023
Small Game & Waterfowl brochure for more information.

WILDLIFE CAUSING DAMAGE

Colorado law allows landowners to protect private property from most wild-
life damage. For information, call CPW at 303-297-1192. Also see cpw.info/
regulations, Chapter W-17: Game Damage, for updated trapping regulations
and details on small-game damage.
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NO HUNTING THESE BIRDS ON WIA LANDS

GAMBEL'S QUAIL

REGION FOUND: Western Colorado, primarily in
the Grand and Uncompahgre valleys. They may
inhabit some WIA properties in this area.
IDENTIFICATION: A distinctive plume feather on
the head. Males have a black face and copper
feathers on top of the head. Females have
mostly gray plumage with a tannish-gray face
and beige plumage underneath.

© Wayne D. Lewis, CPW

SAGE-GROUSE

REGION FOUND: Western Colorado. They may
inhabit some WIA properties.

IDENTIFICATION: Large, grayish bird with a slow
wing beat in flight. They have distinctly pointed
tail feathers and black breast feathers, both of
which are visible when flushed. Sage-grouse
tend to be silent when flushed.

© Kathleen Tadvick, CPW

PLAINS SHARP-TAILED GROUSE
REGION FOUND: Weld, western Logan and
northern Morgan counties. Plains sharp-tailed
grouse are not a legal game bird in Colorado

but have been transplanted into some areas

to re-establish populations. When hunting in
these counties, please take special care to clearly
identify the target before shooting.
IDENTIFICATION: Much lighter in color than
cock pheasants and have a short, distinctly
pointed tail, which shows white when in
flight. They often emit a low-pitched series of
clucks when flushed.

© Rick Hoffman, CPW

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM

Small-game, [[[] coyote and migratory bird hunters, including falconers,
must sign up with HIP EACH YEAR before their license is valid. You can get
a2023-2024 HIP number beginning on April 1 but can get a HIP number any-
time after April 1, as long as it's before you hunt small game [[[[] or coyotes
during the 2023-2024 season. Write the new HIP number on your license!

To sign up with HIP, call 1-866-265-6447 (1-866-COLOHIP) from 7 a.m.
-10:30 p.m., or go to colohip.com. You will be asked for basic information,
including how many birds and small game you harvested the previous season,
and the species you plan to hunt this year. A season means Sept. 1 through
March 15 of the next year. This information helps CPW manage migratory
bird and resident small-game species by improving harvest estimates.

Live operator phone registrations at 1-866-COLO-HIP are no longer of-
fered during the overnight hours from 10:30 p.m. to 7 a.m. The live operator
system is also closed all day on major holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas
and New Year's Day). During these out-of-service periods, please call back
during open service times or go to colohip.com and register online, still
available 24/7.

CPW.STATE.CO.US 3



GENERAL INFORMATION

Continuing in 2023, big-game hunting will be available on certain Walk-In
Access (WIA) properties. Big-game access within the program has been
expanded to the entire eastern plains, totaling approximately 211,114 acres.

The big game program will allow public access to specified Colorado WIA
properties for deer, elk and pronghorn hunting within specified big game
season dates, from Sept. 1-Dec. 31, 2023.

Hunters should be aware that many WIA properties will be open for both
small game and big game, while other properties will remain small game only.
Small/big game combo properties will be shown as YELLOW polygons on
the printed and mobile maps, and marked in the field with yellow boundary
signs. Small game-only signs will be depicted as white polygons on the maps,
and will be marked with white boundary signs.

Big game hunters thinking of applying for licenses in 2024, on the basis of
hunting on Walk-In Access properties, should consider that each property
is enrolled on an annual basis in July of each year. There can be significant
turnover in properties that are available each year. All big-game properties are
enrolled for the Regular Walk-In Access Brochure.

REPORT
POACHERS

OPERATION GAME THIEF: 1-877-265-6648
EMAIL: GAME.THIEF@STATE.CO.US

Earn a reward payment for reporting wildlife violations by calling
Operation Game Thief. Callers can remain anonymous.
(This number is not for information requests or emergencies.)

TO DONATE:
co.accessgov.com/ogt/Forms/Page/ogt/payments/

NOVICE HUNTER PROGRAM

BIG-GAME HUNTING

CORNERS FOR CONSERVATION

Colorado Parks and Wildlife initiated the Corners
for Conservation (C4C) program in 2016 to develop
highly diverse habitat for wildlife on sprinkler
corners and other difficult-to-farm areas in select
Eastern Colorado counties. The program creates
excellent habitat for wildlife, including upland game
birds and pollinating insects, by establishing highly
diverse cover, including tall native grasses and
flowering forbs, on sprinkler corners. Developed in
conjunction with our partners at Pheasants Forever
Inc., High Plains Land Conservancy and Muley
Fanatics Foundation, C4C has successfully created habitat on 719 corners
over the last eight years.

Doubly important, all C4C projects are open to public hunting
through the Walk-In Access Program (WIA). C4C projects are primar-
ily located within the sprinkler-irrigated portions of Sedgwick, Phillips,
Yuma, Washington and Kit Carson counties. All of these projects are
posted in the Late Cropland Walk-in Access brochure, but they are not
specifically identified as C4C projects in the atlas. However, all are posted
with WIA boundary signs and C4C signs (pictured above) in the field.

SMALL-GAME SURVEYS

Colorado Parks and Wildlife conducts several small-game harvest surveys
annually to estimate harvest, hunter numbers and recreation days, in ad-
dition to assessing satisfaction and crowding. Past surveys are available on
the CPW website at cpw.info/small-game-stats, and updated reports
are available after annual surveys conclude. Hunters are selected randomly
to participate. Small-game surveys are by telephone or by email. If con-
tacted, your participation is not required, but responding — even if you
did not hunt or harvest an animal — helps CPW manage small game.

WATCH FOR BANDED BIRDS

Wildlife managers need your help gathering information about migratory
bird populations. If you kill or find a banded bird, please report it to the
US Geological Survey Bird Banding Lab: reportband.gov

Colorado Parks and Wildlife’s Novice Hunter Program (NHP) provides people
new to hunting with a solid foundation of knowledge and skills to instill the
confidence that aids in future safe and enjoyable
hunting experiences in Colorado.

The novice program includes classroom time,
and the curriculum focuses on the fundamentals
of pheasant biology, hunting techniques, firearms
safety and hunting ethics, as well as practical
exercises in the field.

But there’s one thing that we can't give you,
and that’s experience. As part of this program,
CPW leases some Walk-In Access properties spe-
cifically for novice hunters, to give an opportunity
to hunt in good pheasant habitat in a relatively
unpressured setting. These lands are not open to
the general public and are available to you just for
this hunting season.

There are some restrictions on how these lands can be hunted. We ask you
to please abide by program regulations and property-specific rules while you
are hunting. Remember to plan ahead and be safe. Good luck and have fun!

Look for the signs!

WIA properties that are open for
novice hunters will be posted
with special yellow signs that look
like this.

To hunt these special designated pheasant properties:
1. You must be a current-year graduate of the Novice Hunter Program must
be present and actively hunting during all hunting activities.

2. Up to four additional licensed hunters may accompany and hunt with a
graduate of the Novice Hunter Program.

3. A valid “student” hang tag must be hung from the rearview mirror from
students’ vehicles while they are hunting NHP WIA properties.

4. A valid “mentor” hang tag must be hung from the rearview mirror of
vehicles carrying hunters accompanying an NHP student.

b

No more than two vehicles are allowed per NHP hunter.

(=)

. Lands enrolled and posted as NHP Walk-In Access properties may be ac-
cessed from Nov. 11, 2023 through the end of February 2024. All hunting
season dates must be followed.

N

Access shall be by foot only. Entry by horseback, motorized vehicle, or
other means is prohibited.

8. Access is allowed for hunting only; all other activities are prohibited.

See additional walk-in hunting regulations on page 5.
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HUNTING LAWS

WALK-IN PROPERTY LAWS

KNOW BEFORE YOU GO

1. Lands are open for public access one hour before sunrise until one hour after

sunset. When hunting waterfowl, deer, elk and pronghorn, public access is
allowed two hours before sunrise until two hours after sunset.
2. Species of take will be restricted as follows:

a. Lands enrolled and posted as Regular, Late Cropland or Extended Sea-
son Walk-In Access properties are open for the take of all small game,
furbearers, migratory game birds and Eurasian collared-doves, except
Gambel’s quail, Gunnison sage-grouse and greater sage-grouse.

b. Lands enrolled and posted as Big Game Walk-In Access properties are
open for the take of deer, elk and pronghorn by hunters holding a valid
license for the GMU in which the property lies.

3. Public access is allowed:

a.From September 1 through the end of February annually for lands en-
rolled and posted as Regular Season Walk-In Access properties.

b. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of February
annually for lands enrolled and posted as Late Season Cropland Walk-In
Access properties.

¢. From September 1 through the end of the mountain sharp-tailed grouse
season annually, for all lands enrolled and posted as Grouse Walk-In Ac-
cess properties.

WALK-IN PROPERTY SIGNS

d. From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of March
annually for lands enrolled and posted as Extended Walk-In Access
properties.

e.From the opening day of pheasant season through the end of February
annually for lands enrolled and posted as Novice Hunter Program Walk-
In Access properties.

1. A current year’s graduate of the Novice Hunter Program must be
present and actively hunting with each group during all hunting
activities.

2. Up to four additional hunters may accompany and hunt with a
graduate of the Novice Hunter Program.

f. From September 1 through the end of December annually for lands en-
rolled and posted as Big Game Walk-In Access properties.

4. Access shall be by foot only. Entry by horseback, motorized vehicle or other
means is prohibited.

5. Access is allowed for hunting only; all other activities are prohibited.

6. Access is prohibited as posted when the landowner is actively harvesting
crops.

There are a variety of Walk-In Access program boundary signs. Knowing what to look for in the field will help during your hunt.

ACCESS SIGNS in the field PHEASANT SEASON EXTENDED ACCESS PARKING SIGNS SAFETY ZONE SIGNS CLOSED! BIG GAME ACCESS
will have an access date ACCESS SIGNS have an properties are posted designate where hunters are common on or DO NOT HUNT IF FIELDS PROGRAM
of Sept. 1 through the access date of “The to close at the end of should park at some near WIA properties. HAVE YELLOW (PW and partnering
end of Feb. that tell when ~ opening day of pheasant March, annually. walk-in areas. The major- These signs are used “WARNING!” SIGNS. landowners are offering big
the property is open for season” through the These signs have an ity of WIA properties do to delineate safety Rarely, itis necessaryto - game hunting access on many
hunting. end of Feb. Properties access date of “The not have established zones around buildings, remove a property from Walk-In Access (WIA) proper-
that are posted to open -~ opening day of pheasant parking areas. Instead, homesteads, livestock the WIA program after ties in Eastern Colorado. Prop-
onthe openingdayof  season”through the end hunters should park corrals or neighboring this brochure is printed. erties that allow big-game
pheasant season cannot - of March. These proper- along the road, taking landowners' homes When that happens,  hunting are yellow in the WIA
be accessed prior to ties cannot be accessed care to stay out of the and properties. Please boundary signs are maps in this brochure. These
Nov. 11, 2023. prior to Nov. 11, 2023. traveled portion of the respect safety zone signs replaced with yellow properties will be signed with
road but also not park wherever youfindthem ~ warmingsigns tonotify ~ yellow WIA boundary signsin
in tall weeds and grass posted. hunters the propertyis - thefield. These properties are
where afire hazard exists. no longer available for -~ open for big-game hunting

BEWARE OF HITCHHIKING SEEDS

walk-in hunting.
Remember, if you
find a WIA property
listed in the brochure
but boundary signs are
not present at the field
corners, please do not
hunt that field!

to properly licensed hunters
during established big-game
seasons from Sept. 1, 2023,
through Dec. 31,2023, and
to small-game hunting
from Sept. 1, 2023, through
Feb. 29, 2024. Big-game
hunters must possess a valid
pronghorn, deer or elk license
valid for the Game Manage-
ment Unit (GMU) in which the
Walk-In Access property lies.
All normal WIA regulations
apply. All big-game hunting
regulations apply.
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HUNTING LAWS

SEASON DATES

Select big-and small-game season dates are included within this atlas for your
convenience; however, all season dates are not listed.

A complete synopsis of the big-game hunting season dates can be found
in the 2023 Colorado Big Game brochure, while the complete small-game

SMALL-GAME SEASON DATES AND BAG LIMITS BIG-GAME SEASON DATES

» PHEASANT » SQUIRREL: FOX, PINE > DEER

hunting season dates can be found in the 2023 Small Game & Waterfowl
brochure. These brochures are available at license agents, CPW offices and
online in downloadable PDF and interactive, searchable formats at cpw.info/
big-game-brochure and cpw.info/small-game-brochure.

SEASON 1: Nov. 11-Jan. 31, 2024
AREA: East of I-25

SEASON 2: Nov. 11-Jan. 7, 2024
AREA: West of [-25

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 3 cocks
POSSESSION LIMIT: 9 cocks

Pheasant © Jerry Neal, CPW

» QUAIL:
NORTHERN BOBWHITE, SCALED
SEASON 1: Nov. 11-Jan. 31, 2024
AREA: East of I-25 and south of
I-70 from I-25 to Byers and Hwy.
36 from Byers to Kansas, and the
parts of the following counties
that are west of [-25: Pueblo,
Fremont, Huerfano, El Paso and
Las Animas counties.

SEASON 2: Nov. 11-Jan. 7, 2024
AREA: East of I-25 and north of
I-70 from I-25 east to Byers and
Hwy. 36 from Byers to Kansas.

SEASON 3: Nov. 11-Jan. 7, 2024
AREA: West of I-25 except those
areas west of I-25 in Pueblo,
Fremont, Huerfano, El Paso and
Las Animas counties.

DAILY BAG LIMIT: 8 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 24 of each
species

SEASON: Oct. 1-end of Feb. 2024
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 5 of each species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 10 of each
species

Pine squirrel © Wayne Lewis, (PW

» COTTONTAIL RABBIT

» SNOWSHOE HARE

» JACKRABBIT: WHITE-TAILED,
BLACK-TAILED
SEASON: Oct. 1-end of Feb. 2024
DAILY BAG LIMIT: 10 of each
species
POSSESSION LIMIT: 20 of each
species

Cottontail © Wayne Lewis, CPW

LEGAL HUNTING HOURS

Legal hunting times for big game are one-half hour before sunrise to
one-half hour after sunset, unless specifically restricted. Legal times to
hunt small game are one-half hour before sunrise to sunset. An exception
is made for furbearers, which can be hunted from one-half hour before
sunrise to one-half hour after sunset. Go to gml.noaa.gov/grad/solcalc
to pinpoint the sunrise/sunset time for your hunting location.

PLAINS ARCHERY

SEASON: Oct. 1-27, Nov. 8-30,

Dec. 15-31*

GMUs: 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94,
95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103,
104, 105, 106, 107, 109, 116, 117,
122,125,126, 127, 129, 130, 132,
136, 137, 138, 139, 141, 143, 144,
145, 146, 147, 951

SEASON: Oct. 1-27,

Nov. 8-Dec. 31*

GMUs: 110, 111, 112,113,114, 115,
118,119, 120, 121, 123, 124, 128,
133,134,135

SEASON: Oct. 1-Nov. 30,
Dec. 15-31*
GMUs: 142

PLAINS MUZZLELOADER

SEASON: Oct. 14-22*

GMUs: 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94,
95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103,
104, 105, 106, 107, 109, 110, 111,
112,113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118,
119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125,
126, 127, 128, 129, 130, 132, 133,
134, 135, 136, 137, 138, 139, 141,
142, 143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 951

PLAINS RIFLE

SEASON: Oct. 28-Nov. 7*

GMUs: 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94,
95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103,
104, 105, 106, 107, 109, 110, 111,
112,113,114, 115,116,117, 118,
119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125,
126, 127,128,129, 130, 132, 133,
134, 135,136, 137, 138, 139, 141,
143, 144, 145, 146, 147, 951

LATE PLAINS RIFLE

SEASON: Dec. 1-14*

GMUs: 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94,
95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103,
104, 105, 106, 107, 109, 116, 117,
122, 125,126, 127,129, 130, 132,
136, 137, 138, 139, 141, 142, 143,
144, 145, 146, 147, 951

Mule deer buck © Wayne Lewis, (PW

» PRONGHORN

PLAINS RIFLE

SEASON: Oct. 7-15%

GMUs: 87, 88, 89, 90, 93, 95, 97, 98,
99, 100, 101, 102, 104, 105, 106, 107,
109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115,
116,117,118, 119, 120, 121, 122,
123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128, 129,
130, 132, 133, 134, 135, 136, 137,
138, 139, 140, 141, 142, 143, 144,
145, 146, 147, 951

SEASON: Nov. 1-Dec. 31* (doe)
GMUs: 87, 88, 89, 95, 951

SEASON: Dec. 1-Dec. 31* (doe)

GMUs: 105, 110, 111, 116, 117, 118,
119, 122, 123, 124, 127, 130, 132,
136, 137, 138, 139, 143, 144, 145, 146

SEASON: Dec. 1-5* (doe)
GMUs: 128, 129, 133, 134, 135, 141,
140, 147

SEASON: Dec. 1-14* (doe)
GMUs: 97

SEASON: Dec. 2-10* (doe)
GMUs: 112, 113, 114, 115, 120, 121,
125,126

*Please refer to the 2023 Big Game
brochure for a detailed listing of all
season dates, GMUs and methods of
take for deer and pronghorn, as well
as information about over-the-coun-
ter license dates and units.

DONATE
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MAPS

WALK-IN PROPERTY MAPS
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Printed for free distribution by:

COLORADO PARKS AND WILDLIFE
6060 Broadway, Denver, CO 80216
303-297-1192

cpw.state.co.us

NOTICE ABOUT THIS GUIDE
This brochure is not a legal notice nor a complete collection of hunting regulations and laws. Copies of statutes and requlations can be obtained from
a (PW office or at cpw.info/regulations. For questions, call CPW at 303-297-1192.

ONLINE BROCHURE




