Sign In
Furbearers
Furbearers
2 badgers at a den
​​​​​​​​Small Game Quick Guide
​​​​​​​​​Small Game Quick Guide 

5 Steps to the Hunt

​​Furbearer Hunting Checklist
  1. Secure and Verifiable Identification
  2. For residents, proof of residency
  3. Proof of hunter education
  4. Purchase a License: To hunt furbearers (except coyote), hunters will need to purchase EITHER:
    1. ​a furbearer l​icense (to harvest furbearers only), or;
    2. a small game license AND the new annual furbearer harvest permit. This will allow hunters to hunt all small game and furbearer species.
    3. What license do I need to hunt specific small game and furbearer species?
  5. Habitat Stamp​: A habitat stamp is required for anyone aged 18
    ​through 64. Stamps are available at all CPW offices, from sales agents,
    ​online​
    , and by phone at 1-800-244-5613. 
  6. Harvest Information Program: ​Hunters planning to use their furbearer license OR small game license with a furbearer permit to pursue furbearers (not just as a qualifying license for the big game draw) will need to obtain their HIP number through the HIP website​ or by calling and speaking with a live operator at 1-866-COLOHIP (265-6447), available 7 a.m.-10:30 p.m., before they can legally hunt.

Hunting Coyote

While coyote are considered furbearers, you do not need a furbearer harvest permit to hunt this species. You may hunt coyote with a furbearer license, a small game license, a small game license with the new furbearer harvest permit, or an unfilled big game license.​

2 ducks flying on cover of brochure

Small Game & Waterfowl Brochure

​Hunters interested in hunting furbearer species should review the ​Small Game and Waterfowl brochure for more information on legal methods of take and hunting laws. 






​Season Dates

Badger; Mink; Pine Marten; Gray Fox; Red Fox; Swift Fox; Raccoon; Ring-Tailed Cat; Striped Skunk; Western Spotted Skunk; Long-Tailed Weasel; Short-Tailed Weasel; Opossum; Muskrat

  • Season Dates: Nov. 1 - end of February
  • Location: Statewide
  • Daily Bag Limit: Unlimited
  • Possession Limit: Unlimited

Coy​ote

  • ​Season Dates: Year-round
  • Bag Limit: Unlimited
  • Possession Limit: Unlimited

Beaver

  • Season Dates: Oct. 1 - April 30
  • Location: Statewide
  • Daily Bag Limit: Unlimited
  • Possession Limit: Unlimited

​Bo​bcat

  • Season Dates​: Dec. 1 - end of February
  • Location:  Statewide
  • Bag Limit: Unlimited
  • Possession Limit: Unlimited

     Bobcat Seals

All bobcats or their pelts must be personally presented by the hunter for inspection and sealing by CPW within 30 days after take, or within 5 days after the season closes; whichever is sooner. Any bobcat hide/pelt without a seal within five days after the season closes is illegal and becomes the property of the state. Seals will be placed only on bobcats taken legally in Colorado. Inspection and sealing is free, and seals must stay attached to hide until processed. Bobcat hides/pelts cannot be transported, shipped or otherwise taken from Colorado until inspected and sealed. It is illegal to buy, sell, trade or barter an untanned bobcat hide/pelt without a seal. One seal per hide/pelt. Contact a nearby CPW office for details. 

Bobcat Annual Mortality T​able - coming soon!​

Furbearer Harvest Log

Fill out the Furbearer Harvest Log and use the information as reference if you are contacted for the annual Furbearer Harvest Survey in the spring following the close of the seasons. The Furbearer Harvest Survey helps us track the furbearer species taken each year, so we can better manage their populations.

Annual Furbearer Harvest and Management Report

  • ​2021 - 2022 R​eport​​ - coming soon!

Learn More About Furbearer Species