With the passage of
Senate Bill 18-143, CPW is able to adjust pricing to meet the pressures of increased management costs and resource usage across the state. These adjustments allow the agency to continue our conservation mission, while also ensuring transparency and accountability in working to achieve the ten key goals laid out in the bill.
Fishing fees will change with the 2019-2020 season. Learn more about the approved
2019 fishing license fee adjustments or visit our Future Generations Act
Frequently Asked Questions page for additional information.
Annual licenses go on sale mid-march. Licenses are valid April 1 through March 31 annually for fishing, combination fishing and hunting, small game and Colorado waterfowl stamps. Licenses can be purchased at license agents, CPW offices, online or by phone at 1-800-244-5613.
Purchase of a $10 Habitat Stamp is also required with the purchase of the first hunting or fishing license of the season.
Waters of Colorado are open to taking fish, amphibians, mollusks and crustaceans both day and night, year-round, except as otherwise provided in the Fishing Regulations Brochure. A hardcopy of the brochure is available at all CPW Offices and license agents statewide.
You can fish in Colorado without a license only on the first full weekend of June, each year. All other rules and regulations apply.
For individuals aged 18 through 64, a $10 Habitat Stamp is required with the first license purchase for the year (April 1 - March 31 annually). For more information, read about the Habitat Stamp. If you are disabled, you may not need a Habitat Stamp. See disability information.