To ensure you have a license to hunt this fall, review the options below.
Proof of Residency: Colorado residency is required to purchase any resident license. If you were issued a Colorado driver's license or renewed your Colorado driver's license within the last 6 months, you will need to provide proof of residency. See Colorado Resident Status for more information.
Photo Identification: See Identification Needed for License Purchases.
Hunter Education: Were you born on or after January 1, 1949? If so, you must have a valid hunter education card/certificate before you apply for or purchase a hunting license. You'll also need a hunter education card before applying for a preference point. Your hunter education card/certificate and the appropriate license(s) must be in your possession while hunting. See Hunter Education for test out options, apprentice license opportunities and more information.
Qualifying license (see below)
Social Security Number: A valid Social Security Number (SSN) is required for anyone 12 or older to apply for or purchase all CPW licenses (as required by the Colorado Child Support Enforcement Act, established by HB 97-1205 and implemented through 24-33-110 C.R.S.). Your SSN is not shown on your license. It is provided, when requested, to the Colorado Department of Human Services, Child Support Enforcement, as required by law and is used to enforce the law.
Available starting March 1 For sale online, by phone (1-800-244-5613) and at sales agents around the state
Prior to applying in the big game draw(s), all applicants will first need to purchase a
qualifying hunting license.
Online draw applications will not be accessible until you purchase your qualifying license.
Application periods and draws open to all hunters.
Available online and by phone (1-800-244-5613).
Apply early to avoid any last-minute online rush!
CPW publishes license prices, hunt codes, GMU boundary descriptions, and other requirements in the annual brochures (available online).
big game brochure contains elk, mule deer, white-tailed deer, pronghorn, moose and bear information.
sheep and goat brochure contains Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep, desert bighorn sheep and mountain goat information.
All nonresident big game licenses purchased automatically include an annual fishing license, so bring your fishing rod when you're hunting or start planning a summer scouting trip.
Youth (ages 12 to 17 years old) pay reduced prices on licenses. Youth can benefit by receiving preference for many draw units (see the Colorado Big Game brochure, page 17, for details) in both the primary and secondary draws.
Private-Land only licenses are licenses you can get through the draw(s) that are only valid on private lands in the specific GMUs listed on your license/in the Big Game brochure. Permission from private landowners is always needed before hunting with a private-land-only license.
Ranching for Wildlife licenses are available only in the primary draw for certain ranch properties and only for Colorado residents. See the Ranching for Wildlife pages for more information.
Please note that qualifying licenses, application processing fees and the Habitat Stamp fee are nonrefundable.
Available Tuesday, August 3, 2021 at 9 am MTFor sale online, by phone (1-800-244-5613) and at sales agents around the state
These are the licenses remaining after the primary and secondary draws. If you purchase one of these licenses, you will not use any of your preference points.
Available Thursday, August 3, 2021 at 9 am MTFor sale online, by phone (1-800-244-5613) and at sales agents around the state
OTC licenses can