Snowmobiles that are operated on public land or trails in Colorado must be registered with Colorado Parks and Wildlife.
2022-2023 Temporary Registrations
NEW Process: Colorado Parks and Wildlife will no longer provide a bright green temporary registration by mail for new registrations or renewals. Instead, customers can now use their emailed confirmation receipt (valid for 60 days) as their temporary registration until you receive your registration card and decals in the mail. The emailed confirmation receipt will be sent to the email address you have on file. If you do not receive your registration card and decals within 30 days, please contact Colorado Parks and Wildlife at 303-297-1192.
Registration, registration renewals and nonresident snowmobile permits are required annually and are
valid from October 1 through September 30 each year.
Registration renewal cards are mailed to currently registered owners each August. Registrations and registration renewals can be done 45 days prior to the registration expiration date (Sept. 30).
Who must register:
Colorado residents are required to register their snowmobiles with Colorado Parks and Wildlife and must provide acceptable proof of ownership.
Non-residents are not required to register their snowmobiles (but may choose to do so). If a non-resident chooses to register their snowmobile they are required to provide acceptable proof of ownership.
Who must purchase a permit:
Non-residents are required to
purchase a permit regardless of whether or not they choose to register.
How to Register
To register your Snowmobile in your name for the first time, complete the Snowmobile Registration Form and return it, along with your
proof of ownership, to:
Colorado Parks and Wildlife - Registration Unit
13787 South Highway 85
Littleton, CO 80125
You may also register your snowmobile at various dealers or many Colorado Parks and Wildlife offices.
Please call the Registration Unit at 303-297-1192 for a list of agent locations near you.
Title is required for all power sports vehicle dealers and auctioneer sales. Snowmobile titling is optional for private party to private party sales. For titling information, see Titling Off Road Vehicles SB13-280 on the Department of Revenue website.
The annual registration fee is $30.25. Registrations are valid Oct. 1 through Sept. 30 each year. This is a flat administrative transaction fee – it cannot be prorated for a partial year's registration, and will not be subject to refund if the machine is sold or stolen.
Renew Your Registration Online
Online registration renewal for vehicles and vessels is now available to people who already have their vehicle registrations added to their CPWShop.com accounts.
Verify you can renew your registration online and find online registration renewal instructions on the main Registrations page.
Registration renewal cards are mailed to currently registered owners each August. Registrations are valid October 1 through September 30 each year. You may also renew your registration online by going to the link on the back of the registration card. You MUST have your registration number to renew online or please call 303-297-1192 to get your information.
Purchasing a Snowmobile
Dealers are required by law to complete the registration application for you and collect the registration fee before the machine leaves their premises. The dealer will forward the application form to our office, where we will process the request.
If purchasing a snowmobile from a private party, have the seller provide you with a Bill of Sale to serve as your proof of ownership. An acceptable bill of sale includes:
both the seller and buyer’s printed names and signatures,
the vehicle identification number (if any),
the vehicle make, model and year (if known) and
the date of the sale.
An acceptable private party to private party
Bill of Sale template can be downloaded here for your use. When you purchase a snowmobile from a private party, you may use your Bill of Sale as a temporary registration for 30 days. The Bill of Sale must be carried on the snowmobile while riding until the registration decals and card get to you in the mail.
Sorry, at this time, on-line registration for a newly purchased snowmobile is not available.
Out-of-state residents who bring snowmobiles into Colorado must purchase a Colorado Non-Resident Snowmobile permit which is valid from the date of purchase through the following September 30. These permits can be purchased online from October 1 through April 15.
Please allow 14 days for your order to arrive in the mail. Once purchased, this sticker should be placed on the machine's outside face of the right front part of the cowling. Since this is only a use permit, no renewal notice will be sent to non-resident permit holders. You must purchase a new permit each year you come to Colorado with your Snowmobile.
Registration decals must be affixed permanently on each side of the upper half of the cowling in a location where the decal can be easily seen. Snowmobile operators must carry their registration card and show it to any peace officer on request.