Sign In
Aquatic Animal Health Lab
Aquatic Animal Health Lab

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​About the AAHL  

Mission Statement: To protect, monitor, and enhance the health of aquatic wildlife and aquatic systems in the State of Colorado in accordance with Colorado state statutes.  

Located in Brush, Colorado, the Aquatic Animal Health Laboratory (AAHL) provides in-house support and diagnostic services, including: ​

  • Bacteriology

  • Molecular testing

  • Whirling disease testing

  • Virology

  • Parasitology

  • Supportive services:

    • Histopathology
    • Invasive species screening and identification
    • Water quality testing

The AAHL assists Colorado Parks and Wildlife and the Fish Health Board by providing guidelines for agency policies on fish culture, fishery management, species preservation, and aquatic research. Their primary purposes include:

  • ​Preventing introduction of aquatic diseases and invasive species through monitoring and by educating the public about their role in aquatic health

  • Managing intra- and interstate movement of fish 

  • Cooperating and collaborating with other state, national and international fish health laboratories, scientists, universities, non-profit organizations, and government agencies to reach these aims​


Health Lab Staff

Vicki Milano Dr. John Drennan
​Vicki Milano
Senior Fish Pathologist
vicki.milano@state.co.us
P: (970) 842-6308
Dr. John Drennan
Fish Pathologist
john.drennan@state.co.us
P: (970) 842-6305
April Kraft Victoria Vincent
April Kraft
Laboratory Technician
april.kraft@state.co.us
P: (970) 842-6304
Victoria Vincent
Laboratory Technician
victoria.vincent@state.co.us
P: (970) 842-6312
Ashley Malmlov Colby Wells
Dr. Ashley Malmlov
Aquatic Veterinarian
ashley.malmlov@state.co.us
P​: (970) 842-6303
Dr. Colby Wells
Aquatic Veterinarian
colby.wells@state.co.us
P: (970) 842-6303


Contact the Health Lab

​You can contact the Aquatic Animal Health Lab by emailing AAHL@state.co.us, calling (970) 842-6308, or writing the address below: 

          Colorado Parks and Wildlife
          Aquatic Animal Health Lab
          122 East Edison
          Brush, CO 80723​