Sign In
Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact
Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact

​​​​​​​​​​​​LogoThe protection of the wildlife resources of the state is materially affected by the degree of compliance with state statutes, laws, regulations, ordinances, and administrative rules relating to the management of such resources. Violation of wildlife laws interferes with the management of wildlife resources and may endanger the safety of persons and property. 

The Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact establishes a process whereby wildlife law violations by a non-resident from a member state are handled as if the person were a resident. Personal recognizance is permitted instead of arrest, booking, and bonding. This process is a convenience for people of member states, and increases efficiency of Colorado's wildlife officers by allowing more time for enforcement duties rather than violator processing procedures required for arrest, booking, and bonding of non-residents. The Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact became effective in Colorado in 1991, with Colorado as a charter state along with Nevada and Oregon.

The Wildlife Violator Compact includes a reciprocal recognition of license privilege suspension by member states, thus any person whose license privileges are suspended in a member state would also be suspended in Colorado. Wildlife law violators will be held accountable due to the fact that their illegal activities in one state can affect their privileges in all participating states. This cooperative interstate effort will enhance the State of Colorado’s ability to protect and manage wildlife resources for the benefit of all residents and visitors.

Wildlife Compact Member States:

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas,​ California, Colorado, Connecticut​, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming.​

Wild​life Compact Non-member states:

  • Hawaii
  • Massachusetts

Wildlife Compact Member States map: The only states that do not participate are Hawaii and Massachusetts